Circus skills and home cooking in this magical place, Moustier Ventadour, France

Country

France

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome, nice to meet you, thank you for being you, and enjoy your stay with us!
    Hello, we are Bernardino and Jacqueline and we live with our children (between 10 -22 years old) in a magical place in France. Bernardino is a circus artist and gives circus lessons to children and I has been running a small holiday village with gites, a swimming pool, sauna, animals and lots of other things, for over 25 years.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a French/Dutch/Spanish family (Bernardino is Spanish, I am Dutch, our children are French) and our guests mainly Dutch, Belgium and French. The animals understand all languages ;). At the moment our three oldest sons do not life with us anymore, but they might pop in for a visit once in a while. We live in a 220-year-old house, next to the forest, near by a river and a fish lake. Lots of birds and other animals around.
    Bernadino is an artist with many years of experience in the circus, so in case you are interested in your playful and fun side, he will be able to teach lots of things. Please do not be fooled how easy this art sometimes looks, it takes loads and loads of practice, focus and conscious breathing to be able to get to his level ;).
    I have been cooking for the guest for many years now, has lots of beautiful recipes to share and use, as much as possible, the vegetables and herbs (or flowers) from the garden. In case you are interested in developing your cooking stills, I will definitely be able to teach and inspire you. Next to this my experience and interest is in family constellations for which I organise two weeks a year. I have my wasy explaining things that might seem to overcome us from a different perspective and can also help out with a private constellation if necessary. In general, both of us are not shy of some deep and meaningful conversations about life, but definitely have a very young and playful side us as well.
    Do not be surprised by a last-minute invite to a dance in the grange!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    As we run a small holiday village, we get pretty busy in the summer season and would like you to help us out taking care of the general things in and around the house. This includes, taking care of; the garden and vegetable garden (especially in summer it needs to be watered daily) the animals (horses, dogs, rabbits, chickens) doing some general maintenance on the house (only when it is needed at the time) to cook for the family some days and help out with other little things like going to the market,

    Next to this, if there is enough time, the mobile home could use a bit of an update and TLC to make it completely enjoyable for workawayers to stay in. This could be a very fulfilling little project for someone who is handy and has a way to create ambiance.

    During the summer we welcome guest, mostly from Holland, Belgium, and France, sometimes up to 30 people including (young) children. It is therefore necessary that you are somewhat easy-going, easy to connect with and you are able to handle yourself in a group. You might get a question here and there as people will see you walking around so it is important to be friendly and in general you like to be around others. The area in itself is completely enclosed by nature and forest so if you want to take some distance and be by yourself you can take a long nice walk, take the dogs down to the river or just sit on a bench near our little lake. For you to feel comfortable amongst all the guest it would be very preferred if you could speak Dutch or Dutch/Belgium.

    You need to be a hands-on kind of person. Not someone who waits for the chores to be explained but someone who is able to see what is necessary and where you can help out in that moment. It is not hard work at all but sometimes it can be a bit chaotic, so it is very preferred if you are able to take things on yourself and be proactive.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Greek: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in a mobile home, next to our house. The mobile home has its own toilet and shower, a sleeping room (with a comfortable double bed) and a living. In front of the mobile home is a nice little terrasse, next to the vegetable garden. You can eat with us (with our family) or you can prepare your food in the mobil home. Sometimes we eat with all the guests.

    As described before the mobile home needs a bit of attention but nevertheless is a perfect place to stay with a beautiful view and completely private for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can visit the surroundings by feet or by bike. The nearest village is at 9 km. You can come with us to town, to the local market on Sunday's, or if you have a driving license (and you are a good driver ;)) you can borrow our car sometimes. We are not far from the Gorges de la Dordogne, and we're surrounded by mountains, so just the view is already astonishing. There are many hiking trails around and also from our land you can straight enter the forest to start explore and disapear in nature for a while.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited acces with a pretty good connection (for the French countryside) but please do not except it to be as good as you are used to in big cities ed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    They can be parked in our garden, in a nice place and we will supply electricity and water. There is also a shower available to use as well as a washing machine.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes we do, but max 1 dog, because we have already 2 dogs Snowy and Gaia.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours a day, max 5 days a week.



Host ref number: 799889779569