Help in a green house in New Brunswick

Country

Canada

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/06/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our names are Steven (60) and Patti Reade (57). We run a small greenhouse operation with 7 greenhouses in which we grow annual hanging baskets, bedding plants and vegetables starters.

    Most work is done inside a heated, dry greenhouse. We need help to fill containers, transplant seedlings, sort tags, and general cleanup of buildings and area. We mostly need help in March, April and May and June.

    We had an amazing first year with our workaways, most of our helpers stayed 2-3 weeks longer than planned. We are very easy going hosts, we have lots of laughs and fun.

    We have 6 children and 4 grand children who visit regularly. For those with allergies, we should mention that we have a dog and a cat.

    We are on the outskirts of town, but arrangements can be made to pick you up from the airport or train station.

    From the Moncton NB Airport, we are about 1 hour.
    From Halifax NS Airport, we are about 2 hours.

    From the Train Station:
    Halifax: 2.5 hours
    Sackville, NB: 20 mins
    Amherst, NS: 20 mins
    Moncton, NB: 1 hour

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    You would help transplant seedlings, fill baskets and pots with soil, transplant plugs into baskets. You would also help keep greenhouses clean and neat, help with organizing tags and everyday maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in our house with us, a comfortable old farm house with your own bedroom, access to highspeed internet and satallite tv. Most meals will be prepared for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 30 minutes from Prince Edward Island and also are just a short drive to Nova Scotia. The ocean is in our back yard and is only a few minutes walk to the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours each day except for Saturday and Sunday

















Host ref number: 798262689896