Join our happy multi-generation family and help with daily life in Mauroux, France

Country

France

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Susie, a grandmother with 2 grandchildren living with me, I used to work for the BBC making interesting radio programmes and researching for TV. I love restoring old furniture, or experimenting with art, sewing quilts, reading gripping tales, watching historical dramas, and swimming in our salt water pool or the river and lakes, and of course walking the dog. My husband Phil enjoys reading, sport, history and gardening. He’s an ex customs officer with great stories to tell of his work in places like India!

    Our house is a huge 6 bedroom 200 year old stone house with a lavender lined driveway and an acre of garden with an orchard of fruit trees and the salt water swimming pool. Fabulous for entertaining and playing hide and seek haha! We are surrounded by the famous French vineyards of this locality. We even have an original old stone bread oven outside, perfect for baking delicious pizzas!

    Edit. You must enjoy spending time with my grandchildren, now aged 11 and 14. We like them to learn good habits, so please don't spend all your waking hours on the phone. Instead, enjoy swimming in our salt pool with them, playing hide and seek in our huge garden, reading stories, singing, dancing, all those things kids enjoy. We'll take you sightseeing and feed you good home cooked meals. We can go to one of the lakes or rivers and have fun! We love to eat out too. Life is too short not to be enjoyed!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    French and English, french village life, beautiful surroundings and lovely people.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with child care like maybe watching them on the (3) trampolines or swings or the switch.no g pool in our garden, some house work or maintenance, and occasional help with my elderly mother in law, mostly just sitting and listening or reading to her.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I can teach you English and you can help me with my French please ! :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own private and lovely bedroom with views of the acre of garden, surrounded by pretty countryside, use of swimming pool, scrumptious meals. Lots of good books to enjoy. Use of arts and crafts room, kitchen, lounge, garden. Choice of shower room or bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Interesting historical Medieval villages nearby, local cinema, delicious restaurants, shopping. Rivers and lakes with beaches and canoeing, fishing, swimming. Wonderful walks! Beautiful skies, stars at night, observatory nearby!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 797562475637