Workawayers interested in art and rural Ontario, Canada.



Favourited 28 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I live in a beautiful secluded country setting and have a number of art projects on the go involving theatre, dance, clown and circus. I am looking for workawayers interested in experiencing rural ontario, a good mix of solitude and social time/cultural exchange, and discovering a side of Canada which you might not see in more a usual work stay (if that exists). The work part of stay would mainly be helping me with my art projects. These include developing and filming story and movement sequences. No prior art experience needed. You are also very welcome to use your off time as a mini art residency and work on your own project - ever thought of integrating your travel experiences through a collaborative story/movement/art project developed over two weeks? :)

    More about me, I am 43 years old and work as a mental health professional in the local hospital. My background is South Indian, I have travelled widely and have called Canada my home (or one of my homes) since 1997. I feel grateful to hosts who supported me during my travels, specially my stays in mediation centres in northern Ontario and farms in Holland and Quebec.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am involved in the circus, contact improv dance, clown, and local farming initiatives. There will be opportunity to experience these art forms and to connect with the art community in Peterborough, as well as experiencing the more traditional cultural aspects such as visiting local hobby farms, canoeing, seasonal festivities, getting to know Peterborough with its many music events, yoga studios, and cafes.

  • Help


    Before the spring appears looking for focus on art projects, filming, movement work. As the ground thaws, then also option to help put in a garden, tending to the large yard.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Urdu, some French

  • Accommodation


    Beautiful private room in a even more beautiful century home, nestled on an acre of secluded land in the hamlet of Indian River, 20 minutes east of the town of Peterborough, two hours North-East of Toronto. I am 2 km from the beautiful river we call Indian River - possibility for kayaking and canoeing to Rice Lake. Internet. Room has comfortable bed, window, bathroom is shared.

    I will provide breakfast and lunch ingredients. I will prepare all dinners. Food is mostly vegetarian, locally sourced when possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I go into Peterborough almost every day, other than that transport to the city is limited. Other local attractions include the Petroglyphs Provincial Park, countless lakes, Curve Lake First Nations art store, and Trent University.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 796847869967