Join our small family hostel at the beach, Playa Dominical, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

new host  

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Alexia Lara. We are a small Costa Rican family of 3 members that converted our house in Dominical into a 9-room place to rent as a hostel initially, however, due to the pandemic we were forced to close the doors a month after opening to the public. To what we feel calm and positive to continue.

    Now we make the decision to rent these rooms per month at good prices and thus give us the opportunity to help each other.

    As for volunteering, we offer accommodation, public services.

    We would like to provide with food also, but for the tough time, it is not possible for us, so we will be more that happy and greatful with 15hrs per week. However, we love to share and cook for everybody at home everythime we can :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Moving to the beach would definitely help enrich the knowledge and experience about the culture of the coast, the food, the activities of the locals and visitors, and learn the language with the new friends you meet.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi, looking for Workawayers interested in moving to the beach and exchange accommodation, public services and super high speed internet connection for helping us in some hrs a day in long-term rental rooms, in Dominical beach, CR. We are looking for the partners that can help in some cleaning (in personal I´m always there to clean with the person, since we are not looking for someone to do our job, we are looking for friends how would like to be part of the team and the family, and would like to do the traded), a male that please has experience in maintenance, the place is small and it is not hard at lot, we have done the toughest 🙂, but for you and me is good to keep it radiant, as a team we are always there. Also looking for garding, painting, arts, and an English professor for a project with the youngs in town. We are open for people responsable, organized, and with own initiative. We offer a good family atmosphere, private, quiet and just 25 meters from the beach and surrounded by the Baru river. Beautiful place, ideal for those who want to explore this area of ​​the country. The time would be indefinite at the convenience of the person, volunteers can aslo do work outside the site and earn their own income, we can accomodate with it. The room for the volunteers has a bunk bed with individual ortopedic mattresses, wall fans and closeth.

    The idea is to be able to help each other as the situation is still very weak and the area is beginning to be restored little by little. We love to cook and share new things..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would like to learn new cultures and languages, also very interesed to open a project of having professors to teach English to the youngs in town for free, so we all help in something so important for the community.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The room for the volunteers has a bunk bed with individual ortopedic mattresses, wall fans and closeth. Exchange accommodation, public services and super high speed internet connection included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in front of the river and just 25 meters walked distance from the beach, close to restaurants, supermarkets, bus stop, close to the day and night environment of the place. Easy to move from one place to the other, close to many other beautiful beaches like Ventanas, Bahia Ballena´s Park, Matapalo beach, Quepos and Manuel Antonio park and so close to the city of Perez Zeledon for any kind of proffesional need.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The place counts with 100 megabytes Fiber Optic intenet from ICE, the companies office for this service is right at 100 mtrs walk from the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We do have 2 spaces of 7 meters long.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love animals, just we do condicions please. Like they can not stay in the room by themself for long time, the volunteer need a bed for the pet and please the pet to be frendly since we are in a community with few other friends arround.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 794543696616