Help at a permaculture farm in a small village in Bohemia, Czech Republic, practise ahimsa (non-violence), find rest in your travels and help to create a better world.

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    114

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travellers! I am Jiří and I live with my small son at a farm with permacultur garden where we grow organic vegetables. Furthermore, we have sheeps, goats, chickens and as me and my son maintain, build and develop everything on our own, we would like to offer you accommodation for some help.
    I used to be a traveller as you are and I still travel and sleep in a van quite often. I love music and prefer to listen to it live. I love the sea, I love the mountains, the whole nature which is sometimes wild and volcanic, anothertime calm and restful. I like observing animals in the wild nature, especially whales and dolphins. I am a fan of snowboarding, practice yoga, acroyoga and meditation, I like to be creative and sometimes I just like to be. Recently I became a father and it has changed my life, I enjoy every second of it. I care for my son in alternate days with his mother. He goes to kindergarten now and starts going to school, soon.
    I got inspired by selfsufficient projects and non-violent philosophy ahimsa. I am interested into vegetarianism and raw food, I prepare all kinds of teas. I try to safe water and energy and am interested into cheap possibilities to gain energy.
    Apart of this little farm, i have a moving company. That is rather hard work but if you are not afraid, you could help me there for some money as well. I am renting the rooms in the house to guests which is our little income apart of my job. This year, we plan to build a greenhouse, an irrigation, some children's buildings on the garden for my son, a chill out area, I would like to build a small pond for swimming, a shower in the garden, repair a wooden gateway and I would manage to find other smaller things to do. I make raw icecreams, fruity cookies and pancakes during summer and my wish is to start a flower shop and grow flowers on my own.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to rest, spend some time in a nature and clear your head. I hope you will be able to realise yourself in the work I offer, learn something from me and teach me what you can do. In Czechia, we have many interesting workshops, meetups, seminars, concerts, theaters, beautiful nature and secret places where paths won‘t lead you and I will gladly become your guide in travelling not just on the map.

  • Help

    Help

    There are two types of help we would appreciate. One is a harder work for person who likes and knows how to work with wood. You could help me to cut the wood with a power saw, build some small things like a path from stones. If you know carpentry or if you know how to use a small sew, you could help me to build bird boxes, I would like to make many per a day :) Sometimes I need to replant some trees as well. I have a moving servis in Prague and it would be possible to help me there and make some extra money for you.
    The other type of work is softer. As we rent rooms to guests, I need some help with cleaning and maintanance of the house, doing laundry etc. If you like, you can cook up to time, too. Our garden needs some help as well and the sheeps and goats will be happy when you feed them and take them to the fields. And if you like to babysit my son, I will be happy if you take care of him up to time.
    This workaway is best suited for 2 friends or couples. I could accommodate just 2 people and as I might be away in work during the day, you should be independent, able to take decisions and be productive (we Czech people can be quite hard-workers :) ) You should be tidy and non-skomers, if you drink a beer or wine up to time, it is ok, but the house is not a party place.
    I definitely want to practise my English with you as my vocabulary is still very limited. Anyway, I am learning and travelling and keep improving :) As my project is on its start and I would like to improve it, I am open to your ideas and inovations (without big investitions) for improving the ecology and health.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I rent all the rooms except of the room of my son. That‘s why you might move during your stay and sometimes you will sleep in a room (when no-one books the room), sometimes you will sleep on a mattress in the living room. I offer you accommodation for a maximum 25h per week. Unfortunatelly, we don‘t have enough resources to pay the food for you. You will share the kitchen and bathroom with few people.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The vilage is very small, in the middle of the fields. The forest is from our house 8 km away, it is beautiful and you can pick mushrooms and blackberries in them. The train stop is 5 mins by foot and takes you to the towns Poděbrady or Nymburk within 5-10 mins. These two towns are great to go to good restaurants, drink coffee and tea, go shopping, visit beautiful places and take a walk. You can visit a swimming pool, play tenis, golf or soccer. Poděbrady is a beautiful town with baths (spa), there is a nice parc or lake with a beach for swimming. Nymburk is a smaller city with ancient ramparts. Both towns lay on the river Elbe and they are very beautiful. Our capital city Prague is reachable in the opposite direction within 50 mins by a train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days per week




Host ref number: 793848926175