Two hundred year old house in the middle of bustling rural Irish town Strokestown, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hosting from April 2022.

    We are a couple with a big old house and lots of projects on the go. We've recently moved to an amazing 200 year old house in the middle of a bustling rural Irish town. We're working to bring this old beauty back to it's former glory.

    We're looking for someone who will be happy to muck in and help us bring our new/old house back to life.

    We have eleven year old twins, two big friendly dogs (Labrador and retired greyhound) and two cats.

    Strokestown is lovely welcoming Irish town; there are busy pubs if that's what you enjoy. There is also lots of nature and history go explore, with the fantastic Strokestown house on our doorstep. We're situated near the Shannon Blueway, and in the middle of Ireland's hidden heartlands. Transport links to the east and west are good and the potential for weekend travel is boundless. We'd love to talk to anyone who thinks they might enjoy joining our team for a while.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is a real architectural gem and is part of a local heritage walk. There's lots of history to enjoy both in the house and the town. Some of the things we uncover are really fantastic. We're a real Irish family who can introduce you to Ireland.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are living in and doing up a 200 year old house. The house is fine in parts and has the basics for human comfort (hot water ect.) but there is lots of clearing out and tidying to be done in areas of the house and garden.

    There can be garden help (clearing ivy ect), clearing out the big attic rooms, and light house tasks involved. There's scope for people with different skill sets as we have more than one project on the go.

    It's satisfying as you are uncovering beautiful things. We do as much as our busy schedules allow, but we could use some help.

    Energy and a willingness to get a bit dirty will be required, but our expectations are realistic.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak a little Spanish and Jennifer speak Portuguese. Jennifer is interested in learning Italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room will be provided.

    Food is included but we would appreciate one main meal cooked by our guest per week if possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's much to do and enjoy in the locality and we are perfectly located to explore the country from! We are well travelled and happy to share our experiences if wanted.

    We have a small boat that we take out in the summer.

    We're a busy but pretty laid back family who take a live and let live approach. We think there is potential for a great experience with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Pretty fast internet 70mg +

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Space to park out the back, but you have to pass under fairly low arch, so no high vehicles. Regular van should be ok, e.g. VW Transporter - 2.7 mtrs approx

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two big friendly dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 792399757579