1 / 5

Help us on a little Island as we try to find a sustainable way of life in Sollerön, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 97 times
  • Last activity: 19/12/2022

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Lisa and I live on this little Island trying to find a sustainable way of life. We moved from the city to live closer to the elements. And surely they are present. Since this summer we have a 7 sheep and two chickens and a dog. The fields on the farm are used for hay har for grazing. We are planting a number of hop plants and some berry trees to perhaps get a small income or at least make som e nice products from.

    We lived here in Sollerön almost 3 years and some work on the farmhouse needs still to be done.

    Lisa works in the day in Mora and I'm working on the farm. For those who come there will be a variety of things to do. Depending on the season.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to meet with friends and to look around the area. We live 20 minutes by bus from Mora. Sollerön is an old viking area and a touristy area. There are good opportunities for all kinds of outdoor activities. You can borrow a kite or bike around the island.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the your skills we'll find something to do. There is always a need for painting. Looking after animals and cooking.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room. Shared bathroom. Free internet access

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are 8 buses daily between Mora and Sollerön. Mora has pretty much everything.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    100 Mbit

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Alot space for and electricity acess for vehicles

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 788227974594

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback



Come and learn about contemporary art whilst helping set up a new art project in Gothenburg, Sweden
Help us pursue our dream of creating a self-sufficient community at our farm in Alingsås, Sweden