Indigenous Family in Atlin, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3870

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Indigenous family practising our culture in a modern context. We help many people in our community, young and older. We hunt, fish, gather, dance, sing, drum and live on the mountain side of Atlin Lake. As we get older and some of our children have moved out, we've found we need your help to keep this good thing going!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a traditional life in a modern setting. We hunt, fish, gather from our land and water, and we have computers and internet!

    You will learn how to hunt/harvest skin, cut and prepare moose meat and fish for freezing, canning and drying in a traditional smokehouse. We also gather berries and medicines as they are in season.

    We are a part of the Taku Qwan Dancers, so dance in festivals near our community and in our community.

    I also sew traditional clothing and can do beadwork and make moccasins when time permits.

    I am also a storyteller and activist, focusing particularly on the rights of indigenous women and children. I am also an Ojibway Pipe Carrier, sing and drum.

    Bryan is also a carver, artist and is working on completing his first book and is an amazing writer.

    We also recently bought a small rugged saw mill and will need help falling and milling trees as Bryan intends to continue building hunting/gathering structures out within our territory.

    We also have a non-profit organization that we plan to revive that is located on the Nakina River here in Northern BC. I would like help developing the funding proposals and land-based curriculum.

    Finally, we live a sober (alcohol and drug free) life and can share that experience with you.

  • Help

    Help

    I am Ojibway and Bryan is Tlingit – we are a Canadian indigenous family.

    Bryan and I have been married 25 years and our home is a beacon of hope in our community. We have young adult children of our own living at home and/or nearby and we also foster children. At present we have two 15-year-old foster sons and a 2.5-year-old foster daughter. We also provide Elder care for an Uncle.

    As we’ve aged, we find we need help with the work necessary both inside and outside our home to make this all work.

    I really encourage you to contact me as my photos will show you how we live an amazing life!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 24’ x 18’ log cabin in our front yard that has a loft and is suitable for a couple or one or two single people. The cabin has a wood stove and propane stove for cooking. Water and other amenities are provided at the big house (our home). The cabin has an amazing view of Atlin Lake and the mountains and gives one the feeling that you are deep in the forest, but you are in the middle of a community.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During time off, our guest can explore the endless outdoor, art and cultural activities offered in Atlin. And, we are only a 2 hour drive from Whitehorse, Yukon and 3 hour drive from Skagway, Alaska!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 786977571174