Help bring our Chateau back to its former glory in Mayenne, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 139 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Aussies that had a dream of buying a French chateau - slightly crazy when you live on the other side of the world!! But five years ago we achieved our dream and purchased a 200 year old chateau in the Mayenne. It's been a lot of work and many ups and downs but we don't have any regrets. We now divide our time between Australia and France. It continues to be the most amazing journey you could possibly imagine and we love nothing more than sharing the journey with others.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    France is an amazing place to visit and apart from enjoying all that the french countryside has to offer you get to experience what life is like in a 200 year old chateau. You can enjoy the local produce, art and culture whilst helping with the ongoing restoration of our chateau and gardens. You can learn or practice your french, learn some french cooking and gain greater insight into the French way of life. Most of our friends that visit never want to leave. We also look forward to learning about where you are from and your culture and maybe sharing a recipe or two.

  • Help

    Help

    For the past 5 years we have been renovating the interior of the chateau and converting our barn into accommodation and over the 2019 summer embarked on a huge garden project. We employed professionals for the technical work but also had many volunteers come to stay and help. We enjoyed having the volunteers and with a big list of things still to be completed we will be again hosting volunteers in 2020.
    We need volunteers to help with preparing and maintaining the chateau over the summer and helping with the garden as there is still lots of planting and work to do. We also want to make a start on some new areas of the garden and grounds.
    Volunteers with carpentry or woodworking skills would be handy as we have a few things we need to build in the garden and are also looking for an experienced photographer to help with our marketing and social media. Any experienced stonemasons will also be warmly welcomed.
    This is not a paid position but a very rewarding volunteering holiday arrangement ie in return for fab food and lodging you help up to 5 hours per day Monday to Friday. In the afternoons and weekends you are then free to explore the local area or join us on our weekend brocanting or other activities.

    if you are interested helping us PLEASE let me know :
    • About your skills/experience and what you might contribute,
    • When you are available and
    • How long (minimum and maximum ) you would like to stay and
    • Whether you have any allergies or special requirements

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have ten bedrooms in the chateau so there is no shortage of accommodation. Every bedroom is large with its own bathroom and is comfortably furnished. You will have your own bedroom in the Chateau and share the living areas. There is a TV, DVD player, billiard table and small gym plus an outdoor pool. Meals will be provided and served either in the chateau or on the terrace depending on the weather. You will enjoy produce from the garden and orchard (subject to availability). Suzie is a fab cook so the meals are delicious. We are happy to accommodate dietary requirements - we have children who are vegan, vegetarian and gluten intolerant.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Explore the local attractions and towns, visit the local produce markets and tag along on weekend brocante market visits. Explore the chateau and grounds. The nearest village is around 3 km away with bars and restaurants and there is a bus service to Laval which is a largish town around 20 km away. We are happy to pick you up from the nearest train station.
    We do recommend you consider hiring a car (it is not expensive to do so) for at least part of your stay so you can visit some of the amazing places in our part of France or even some places slightly further afield like Mont Saint Michel or Normandy Beaches etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 786594321841