Help me develop my small holding in Northland , New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/03/2022

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have previously been an artist in clay, textiles and graphics. I owned an art gallery for more than nine years, specialising in handmade New Zealand made works but now I concentrate on developing my neglected small holding.
    I garden organically, growing some vegetables and fruit but planting support plants too.
    I have travelled a little in Italy, Korea, Spain, Canada and Australia and am interested in other cultures.
    In my 50's I went to University for the first time and studied geology, gaining a B.Sc in 1997. Although I am in my late 70's, I am fit and active and most of my friends and associates are much younger. I am interested in interacting with many cultures.
    Seven years ago I moved to Kaiwaka, Northland to a 3 acre block which needs a lot of work to develop further. So far I have planted many trees and perennials. For the last two years I have adopted syntropic principles, a step further than permaculture which is about sustainability. Syntropy is about creating abundance and improving the degraded earth.

    Current accommodation is a double bed in a modern separate garage. Meals and bathroom facilities shared in the house. I hope to have better sleeping areas soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are convinced that human beings cannot go on trashing the planet and we try to make a difference by being as self sufficient as we can. We minimise vehicle use; plan any purchasing trips to fit in with other needs such as visiting family or attending medical care. Those who have stayed and feel they have learned from us have posted feedback which gives a good picture of what exchange we can offer. I have many old skills, learned as I grew up on a back country farm miles from the nearest neighbours. Many of these skills such as butchering poultry for the table, cooking on a wood fire, looking after animals, making bread and various methods of food preservation have been lost by younger generations and I believe it is important to know these skills to be independent if there is a disaster or crisis.

  • Help

    Help

    My 3 acre plot is mostly over run with Kikuyu grass but there are many fruit and other trees, some needing care. Work would mainly be preparing garden beds, digging holes for tree planting, clearing long grass, mowing (ride on mower and push mower, weed eater), making compost and general maintenance. Any one with building skills would be welcome to build animal shelters, shelving etc. Garden fencing is also needed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a modern double queen bed in a garage. Toilet facilities in the house.
    My house is very small but modern. The village is about 5 minutes drive away with a specialist Dutch cheese shop/delicatessen and an unusual cafe`. This farming area has many attractive beaches and historic sites but there are no cities nearby. The nearest bank is about half an hour's drive from here and the only local ATM has a surcharge to use. I have a small dog which I have re-homed. She has some behavioural problems but ais safe and getting better with kind treatment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I supply all bedding and towels etc but would expect workers to bring their own soap, toothpaste, cosmetics etc. This is a non smoking household.
    It is wise to bring a full range of clothing and stout footwear.
    There are many beautiful places to visit locally if you have a car, beaches for swimming, fishing and surfing. Lots of small towns with great cafe's, museums and art galleries. Unfortunately the local roads are very busy with heavy traffic and are not safe to walk beside as there is no 'shoulder'.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have, previously had a 4 berth campervan parked near the house on a gravel driveway which is a bit tricky to negotiate for the inexperienced driver.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5




























Host ref number: 784981726151