Come and help a busy lively family in Amersham, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 577 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    I am in my 40's and am an osteopath/physiotherapist so if you are interested in alternative healthcare then this is the right place! The kids are sociable and interested in many aspects of life - sports, creative activities, music, singing etc. This is a fun house full of life!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help with English - you will be able to talk to me, my husband and the kids in English and we can help you with written English too. I can also treat you if you have any pain as I am an Osteopath! If you are interested in healthcare and specifically alternative health, this is the place for you!

    You are welcome to join in activities with us at the weekend - lunch, days out, going to stately homes, historic places, walking in the countryside, going to the cinema etc.

    You can join our local library and take out free English books. Also you can come to our health club where there is a gym and swimming pool, sauna etc.

    My 17 year old daughter likes to visit London (markets, tourist sites, art galleries etc) with the helpers at the weekend if you are interested.

    I will also pay for language lessons one morning a week to practise conversation in the local town where you can meet other au pairs.

  • Help


    Welcome to our family

    We are looking for a big sister to help with kids to start in November and ideally, stay for a longer period.

    Do you want to learn English with myself and my three friendly kids. I am keen for my kids to meet people from all over the world and to hear about your culture, travels and interests as it is very enriching for everyone in the family.

    We are a friendly family who live in Amersham in Buckinghamshire, an historic, upmarket and safe small town 35 minutes by train or metro to central London. It is located in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. There are many coffee shops, pubs etc as well as a swimming pool, library etc. We have a large house with a large garden overlooking woods. You will have use of a bike if you want it. You are welcome to speak to our current helper about our family, town, schedule etc.

    We are a multi cultural family and enjoy travelling, cooking world food, music, playing the piano, swimming and sports. We are sporty family - my husband and i are both into fitness and my kids play rugby, running, football, cycling, climbing etc.

    My kids are two boys, one aged 18 (lives at university) and 9 and two girls aged 17 and 11. they do various activities including sports as mentioned plus piano, drama, public speaking, and politics ((as a family we’re all intervente din current affairs and politics and often discuss issues over dinner.. even the younger ones)

    We eat a wide variety of food of international cuisine - being in the health industry i am into healthy food and my husband is a great cook!

    My husband and I run a busy osteopathy and physiotherapy business. We have three clinics one of which is at home so we work long hours. We’re looking for someone to take care of a lot of the work that comes with being in a large household and having a business at home. We expect about 5 hours of help a day Monday to Friday which involves housework and cleaning, helping with meals and playing with the two younger children as well as helping with laundry, ironing, delivering leaflets for our business and gardening if their is time! In return you”ll be in a relaxed lively and friendly environment (especially in the evenings when the kids are home) where you become part of our family and we would of course supply home cooked meals all week.

    in addition we’re happy to pay for English conversation lessons which happen weekly and you are welcome to come with us to our leisure club which has a pool, gym, sauna etc.

    Hopefully the above gives you a good picture of what we’re like and what we’re expecting. It is hard work but hopefully the experience is a rewarding one both for you and for us.

    I hope to hear from you soon!

    Sarah and family

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Own room with desk, bed etc in beautiful area of historic outstanding beauty.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many local sights - this area is full of tourists in summer months and London is very easy to get to. There are many beautiful areas to walk, cycle (you can borrow bikes), run etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 781783667695