Learn about permaculture while helping on our family farm in Bulls Gap, Tennessee, USA


United States

Favourited 274 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    If you love animals, the woods, rolling hills, permaculture, and children we'd love to have you visit our farm! We live on a 100-acre (38 hectare) farm in Bulls Gap, TN. 60 acres of beautiful woods and 40 acres of pasture are at your disposal. We even have a fishing pond!

    John and Wendi are high school sweethearts who have been married for nearly 20 years. We have 4 children ages 5-10. In addition, John's parents also live on the property. John has studied Permaculture for almost two decades and runs a popular Permaculture blog. He also works full-time off of the farm in the nearby town of Greeneville, TN. Wendi homeschools the children. She was an English teacher and editor/writer before staying home to care for the kids. John's parents help with everything on the farm and have their own house about 1/4 miles from the main house.

    This farm was begun in 2015 so volunteering here is an opportunity to see Permaculture grow from the ground up. There are currently geese, ducks, sheep, chicken, turkey (seasonal), and two awesome Australian Shepherds on the property for which there are always daily chores. Our family will be doing broiler chickens in the spring/summer as well as turkeys. We are also continually working on updating our garden and forrest garden. We sell their chickens and lamb and turkey and eggs to the local community. There is an extensive permaculture/organic farming library here for you to take full advantage of as well.

    *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️A special note that we hold a special place in our heart for Turkey after our time living there. Wendi has been learning the language so if you are from Turkey, we are especially interested in a cultural exchange with you! We are just finishing up hosting a wonderful Turkish lady and hope to have many more!*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    From 2007-2014 John was in the U.S. Air Force. Our family lived in Turkey, the Azores, and even Germany for a short time. We have a great appreciation for people of different cultures and ethnicities. We are a Christian family who value (1) Faith (2) Family and then (3) Farming. Wendi speaks a bit of Turkish and would love an opportunity to practice it more. We are also hoping to teach the children Spanish as they get older.

    Anyone who comes to visit us is treated like family and is invited to participate in anything we participate in. You can join us for dinners out, trips to Knoxville, Asheville, or Johnson City, or church. You do not need to be of our faith to visit us but we appreciate your respect for how we are raising our children and our belief system.

    We ask that anyone who wants to come help and live with us come with (1) a good attitude, (2) a willingness to help share the load of chores on the farm, and (3) a willingness to learn. A good sense of humor is also an asset! Because we have four children you have to like children. We also ask individuals to refrain from smoking, drunkenness, or bad language.

    If our farm seems like a good fit for you, please drop us a line!!

  • Help


    There is a wide assortment of opportunities to volunteer here on the farm: tree removal, fencing repair, animal chores, cleaning, cooking, gardening. You name it and we probably need it! If you have a special gift, we may be able to incorporate it on the farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Turkish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Next to John & Wendi’s home is a garage with an apartment on the second floor. This apartment includes two bedrooms and a shared living room with refrigerator and microwave. One bedroom is for family and friends who come to the farm as guests, and the other room would be for volunteers to the farm. It is a small room but has the best view on the farm. It includes one twin bed and basic furniture. There is a rustic but full bathroom in the downstairs section of the garage. WIFI is provided in the apartment. When we have more than one WWOOFer, we use the other bedroom or a camper parked between the house and the garage.

    All meals will be served in the main house. Breakfast and lunch can be made on your own in the main house at your convenience. Dinner will be cooked by Wendi or Grandma, and since we are feeding 9 people every night, picky eaters need not apply! If you like to cook, we’d love to have you help with a dinner now and then.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located just over 1 hour from Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, and Knoxville which all have a tremendous amount of things to do – culturally and agriculturally. The main “big town” is Greeneville, TN. We are also right at an hour from the tri-cities (Johnson City, Kingsport, and Bristol.) We are 90 minutes from Asheville, NC.

    The family has an extensive Permaculture/agriculture library that will be at your disposal. In addition, John is very familiar with educating and very willing to engage any volunteers in as much education and learning opportunities as their brains desire.

    This farm is in a rural area so without a vehicle, you won’t be able to venture very far from the farm.

    Also we do not to work with any VISA issues simply due to time on our end. We can only accept people that are already eligible to travel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 1/2-6 days a week (approx. 25 hours a week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 779398881469