Rustic Farmhouse in Cornwall, England, needing lovely people to help with lots of different things please

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 703 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    45  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    223

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am regularly looking for helpers as there is nearly always work to do here. I would prefer a couple or a someone who is creative and ideally has Carpentry, Construction, DIY and Maintenance Skills In particular please, but who can also assist with all manner of things from house cleaning, DIY, Gardening, renovation and building.

    I am looking for a couple, but having said that, would consider a person travelling alone too.

    This is a lovely old farmhouse tucked down a Cornish country lane on the Rame peninsula. I am within walking distance of the beach and national trust coastal paths. I do not run thefarm as a fully working farm but do have chickens, 2 pigs, dogs and cats

    I am in the process of renovating vintage caravans, barns and out buildings, and am along with a friend hoping to build a tree hoouse, a small half straw bale/ half old window lean-to at the side of the farmhouse, along with a clay pizza oven and BBQ area,, but this process is slow as it is just us two at present...

    I can offer accommodation and food in a peaceful location where you will hopefully feel loved, and part of my home and family...with easy access to trains, buses and beaches (some surfing) there are lovely fishing villages of Kingsand and Cawsand near by and plenty to interest guests.

    I am friendly welcoming and happy to meet new people.

    I love up cycling and restorations, and recycling all kinds of things that others may throw away. All my family are craft orientated, a fine furniture maker, soft furnishing, jewellery, artist, photography are but a few things that we all do or are able to turn our hands to. The children have all left home except for my 22 year old daughter who is home for a while, along with myself , my friend Jeremy and a couple who have come to help us for the summer.

    We are easy going, love being outside, have 7 dogs, two cats, 2 kune kune pigs and chickens so plenty to interest.

    Anyone wishing to help would be most warmly welcomed and treated as part of the family. Please send me a message to find out more or contact me for a chat.

    Because we run a small rural business from a few of our out buildings here, Workaway states that we have to offer a salary to workaway volunteers, As a small business our overheads and costs do not allow us to employ lots of people, which is why we do all the work ourselves, because we can't afford lots of staff. Therefore, if you feel at any time that you would like to help us with our wedding business, for example, serving in the bar, or serving food, then we will pay you minimum wage for these hours, but any other project that you work on will NOT BE business work, and will be done on a volunteer basis and in line with workaways 'cultural exchange' philosophy, and in return we will offer you excellent food, (often organic and homecooked) wine, beers, and I have bought gifts for my workaways, such as clothes, shoes, trips out, and flexibility with days worked, days off, hours worked etc (as this should also be a time for you to get out and explore this gorgeous part of England) to show our gratitude for your volunteering to assist me in trying to get jobs done for myself that I can not do because I am too busy working often. I want these projects done to enhance the quality of my private time, but as I say, they often get put on the back burner because I have to work, so having help with my personal projects really means a lot to me. I want these projects done to enhance the quality of my private life, but as I say, they often get put on the back burner because I have to work, so having help with my personal projects really means a lot to me. Thank you.

    In peace and love Sarah x

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People can learn all various skills whilst with us, and improve ther English if needs be. There are lovely places of interest to visit locally and they can get a real feel for Cornish Heritage in our fishing villages.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help in several ways actually, I would like a couple if at all possible so that they can work together and separately when needed as firstly, I require a very special person who would be able to help with housework as required. I need assistance to renovate out buildings and keep the garden tidy. I require someone who would have skills relevant to my needs ie garden maintenance, renovation, decorating, DIY skills.... or any crafts person who is gifted enough to turn their hand to most things.

    As I said before, I am looking for help with renovations and decorating of old out buildings, a vintage caravan and surrounding area. There will be all manner of projects to do here, digging, carpentry, painting, laying flooring and grass, and much more, so it will be a busy time and suit someone with a variety of skills.

    I love to welcome people here and learn about them and where they are from and hopefully when possible, work alongside them so we feel as though we are all a family.

    Can I also say please though, that if you agree to stay with me for a set amount of time that you honour that , as I will have turned other workaways away in order to accept your offer, so if you suddenly tell me when you are here that you will leave two or three weeks earlier than agreed, you can appreiciate it leaves me with projects to be done and no help to do them, when I could have offered to host someone else who would have stayed for the full agreed time and finished the project with me... I don't mean to sound strict, because I am not, and that isn't my intention, but I would appreciate it if people would be kind enough to honour their commitment to me re the time they agree to stay here. Thank you so very much xxxxx

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I offer either a well maintained 4 berth caravan with heating, electricity. At various times during the year there will be the possibility of a double room in the house. I also have a tent that can be used in the summer months, but I rarely have workaway use it, it is usually as a last resort. xx

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Rame Peninsula is a gorgeous part of Cornwall. We have the breath taking south west coastal path just a few minutes away and several quaint villages near by there is a foot ferry into Plymouth just a few minutes from our farmhouse and Mount Edgecombe House with deer in the large Estate and Segway, walking, craft shops, tea rooms etc.

    There are national trust properties close by too.

    Train stations and buses are very close offering links to Truro, Penzance, Exeter. The Eden Project is about 40 minutes away and there is also Adrenalin Quarry nearby in Liskeard with Zip Wires and all manner of adventures. But we are in a peaceful area where you can also just sit and relax or potter on walks too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day with 2 days free




























Host ref number: 779364947665