Help with our many friendly, family dogs in Bentworth near London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 427 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    37

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple who have shared our home and our lives with young people aged 17 to 62 from overseas for the last 25 years. The property is older and we need help with house keeping and general maintenance, we also have a garden which we are constantly redesigning to provide an interesting and artistic space from which to enjoy our rural views. We are very busy with our big family of dogs so we need help and lots of ideas to keep improving the home and garden. We have a lot of friendly, family dogs and breed litters from time to time, the care of our dogs and running a dog training business takes up most of our time so the day to day care, general maintenance of and improvements to, our property (which is not very large - ⅓ acre) needs helping hands. We are committed to recycling, reducing waste and to trying to use natural products wherever practical. We very much appreciate when our Workawayers cook for the family as we have late evening classes several times a week. We have hosted many vegetarians over the years and also a few vegans and that is not a problem, they are welcome to prepare their own dishes if our main meal contains foods they do not eat but must be willing to prepare meals for non vegetarians. We do not accept smokers. We have very good high speed internet, we usually spend some evenings each week playing word games such as Bananagrams, and enjoy far ranging conversations over dinner. Our environment is very busy most of the time and we are a very busy household with 6 people usually living here and many visitors and volunteers coming and going so enthusiasm and a strong community and work ethic are essential, because we have several people, often from different part of the world, living here anyone who lives with us must be happy to join our big diverse family and work as part of a cohesive team.
    Our home is a great place to practise and improve English conversation, Workawayers who will benefit most are those who have a reasonable knowledge of school/college English and wish to improve their usage.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very busy household with permanent staff as well as Workaways and regular visits from our past helpers who live overseas from Europe to Australia, our home is something of a cultural melting pot.
    We are about 45 minutes by fast train from Central London (Waterloo), 20 minutes by car from the ancient city of Winchester and 40 minutes by car from Southampton, we drive to London every few weeks for a day out so can sometimes give a ride to the city. We have enjoyed the live-in company of overseas visitors for over 25 years and many have become life-long friends, we like to share our culture and learn about the culture of others in a family environment with a lot of good humour and discussion. Workawayers are welcome to join in our dog training and dog agility classes as, when and if they wish to do so and will share family life with us and our other live-in helpers. We have a couple of local pups within walking distance. We enjoy hearing about traveller's lives and experiences and sharing cultural aspects of each others lives. We are keen to help and encourage our overseas friends to learn English if they wish, our volunteers are very welcome to prepare short talks in English for us to listen to and help them to polish.

  • Help

    Help

    General Help wanted from 21th September 2019 onwards

    During the Late Summer and autumn we will need help with lots jobs including, general maintenance, weeding and helping to take care of our embryonic market garden and new green house. Maybe decorating for wet days, outdoor painting on dry days and other ad hoc projects and help with the daily routine. We also need help to ”keep house", cleaning outside and (sometimes) inside each day, cooking and general housework as well as helping with walking the dogs (in all weather). The dogs love to be fussed and we will also have puppies who enjoy lots of human contact and cuddles. We have no kennels, all the dogs live with us in the home as part of the family so anyone living with our family must love dogs and enjoy close daily contact with them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room (or shared if a couple) in one of our charming chalets beside the house. Chalets are heated, cosy and well equipped with internet access, USB ports and plenty of storage. Washing & lavatory facilities are in the house. We eat together as a family and share "family" time together talking, playing cards or word games. We have high speed internet access, wifi and an "Open Use" iMac computer. Food is provided and cooking is shared so that our workawayers cook for us all once or twice a week. We have a good fitness room with various machines for those who want to get super-fit although the area is great for walking, running and cycling. Lots of dogs share the main part of the house so our home is only suitable for true dog lovers. We are very environmentally aware and try to keep a low environmental profile so like minded souls are a particular pleasure. We cannot accommodate smokers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local public transport is mediocre but we can sometimes help drop off and pick up from the nearest large town (Basingstoke) which has a good shopping centre, leisure centres, ice skating, cinemas, go carting, sky diving, bowling and fast trains to London (45 minutes). We are in a rural location with an extensive network of footpaths, the area is very popular with on-road and cross country cyclists as well as runners and hikers. Our nearest town is smaller and within easy cycling distance and reasonable walking distance, it offers a more limited range of activities but has a good leisure centre. We are quite close Jane Austin's house at Chawton and the historic Cities of Winchester and Southampton, our local railway station, which is within walking distance, is on the Watercress Line and only operates steam trains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 778196934411