Family with a wilderness oceanfront property accessible by boat from Northern Vancouver Island, Canada



Favourited 29 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a family with a wilderness oceanfront property that is accessed by boat from Northern Vancouver Island. I am retired and regularly travel to the property. There is a 5 x 6 meter cabin built last year that replaced our Yukon tent. There are also a number of shelters for cooking and storage all tucked away in the old growth forest a few steps from the beach.
    Everything comes in by boat and is landed on the beach and while there are logging roads in the area they do not connect to our site or the highway system. Most species of western mammals inhabit the area and seeing grizzlies, black bears, and wolves is not uncommon. There is lots of bird life and there is always something happening on the water. The main straits are home to whales, dolphins, orcas and sea lions etc. The beach is covered in clams and there are crab and fishing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers could benifit in learning boating, outdoor skills, building off grid and learning to be comfortable on your own once away from the city. Anyone who has contimplated living off grid or who wants to experience the wilderness would find the experience educational. If you appreciate flora, fauna and natural history and have a sense of adventure it’s a chance to connect with nature. We can teach you best practices to live in proximity to wildlife. There is Lots of local history from the native sites to early explorers, to the people who came to log, fish and homestead over 100 years ago. We love sharing our knowledge and learning as well as enjoying what we can learn from others.

  • Help


    I am looking for help in small construction projects , as well as organization projects. Machinery such as the ATVs, generators and other equipment could use maintenance if someone has mechanical skills. There is a solar system as well as electrical wiring of the cabin for the generator .

    A love of being outdoors and good workhabits would be a fit for the many maintenence tasks from painting to trail building.We would fit the work to the skills that a person brings

    A 7-10 day stay is realistic as getting in and out and opening or closing camp uses up a day each way. Longer stays are welcome but we would come out to Campbell River to replenish and then head back in. Individuals or couples and up to 3 persons could be supported. There is also an opportunity to spend time at our Campbell River home with gardening and maintainence and days to explore the area between trips into camp.

    While we enjoy a cocktail after work or a glass of wine, drugs or heavy drinking are not an option.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    There are cabin style tents to set up near the beach area and not far from the cabin. Mattresses and basic furniture are available. The cabin has a wood stove and lighting so is the gathering spot for the day and evening. Cooking is done in a kitchen shelter with propane stove and food would be supplied by the host. There is an outhouse and a solar shower. Lots of gear is available and guests would only need to bring their personal gear. Cell coverage is spotty.
    At home there is wireless internet and private space with a seperate bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Guests would stay in Campbell River at our home until we prepared and loaded the boat and supplies then head into camp. Campbell River is on the ocean and is a community of 35,000 with all the amenities and lots of natural beauty and outdoor attractions. Once in camp there are canoes, kayak, paddle board, row boat, and mountain bikes and camping gear if you wanted to explore. The beach is walk able for miles and there are petroglyphs and lots of areas to explore.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 777716899324