Help with the garden & general maintenance around an old manor house in the Umbrian hills, Italy



Favourited 317 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    Hello from Michelle & Lewis !
    We own an old manor house in the Umbrian hills overlooking Montefalco & enjoy hosting friends & guests during the Spring, Summer & Autumn seasons. Our charming house - a classic country villa - is set in an idyllic, peaceful, serene location with stunning views over the olive groves, vines & forests of central Umbria.
    We enjoy a simple, rewarding life-style - 'la dolce vita'! - embracing the rhythms of the land & traditions of this ancient culture. Many of the most beautiful Umbrian villages are located near to our property & are easily reached by car or public transport - although we live in the countryside the house is not completely isolated.
    If you choose to accept our invitation to stay, on your days off you will be able to explore the famous villages of the region...such as Assisi, Spoleto, Montefalco, Orvieto, Perugia, Norcia, Bevagna & many more.
    Ideally, we would like to host people who enjoy nature, are eager for a new experience & happy to immerse themselves into our welcoming environment & simple lifestyle.
    Please be aware we are not an hotel, hostel or agriturismo seeking staff...we are a small private accommodation concern, seeking 1 volunteer at a time to help with general duties of maintenance and gardening. We love meeting people from different cultures and we are committed to offering our helpers a very enjoyable experience and discovery of this region. Ideally, we would like to host people who are interested in sharing our enthusiasm for this beautiful region.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are seeking friendly, easy-going people to help with the garden & general maintenance - there is always something to do here.
    Ideally, 1-2 weeks at a time from April 2016.... we would prefer non-smokers please.
    Lewis is not always at the property, so from time -to - time you would need to be able to handle some of the heavier jobs, such as tree & shrub pruning. Also some small building/outdoor projects, jobs such as painting, rustic plastering & maintaining/building stone walls - there will always be someone here to guide you if & when you need advice - we all work together here! Experience in masonry, dry-wall building & tree pruning would be highly regarded & very much appreciated. It would also be helpful if you are familiar & comfortable using electrical tools & have some general maintenance knowledge/skills. Regardless of these skills, we would be happy for you to bring enthusiasm, a good sense of humour, a genuine desire for the experience & a willingness to learn !!

    Regarding the help - during the warmer months the grass always needs mowing - we have a 'ride-on' to make life easier, so you would need to be able to use it. Weeding, taking care of the vegetable garden, raking up leaves and pruning are the constant outdoor maintenance jobs needing to be done here but if you love being outdoors, this work becomes a pleasure. It would also help to have someone who is happy to climb a ladder! If you like to are welcome to help Michelle prepare some meals...we always look forward to sharing good food & lively conversation around the table.
    We would like you to help 4-5 hrs a day...(during the warmest months, mornings are best), and we really need to be organised regarding the routine because we have guests during the season.
    If we have a small project on the go, we would appreciate help to complete the task if possible, then you would be welcome to have a few days free. Your weekends are free to spend as you wish - perhaps a day trip to one of the villages or a weekend in Rome or Florence. It will also be our pleasure to show you around & introduce you to our favorite places. Many festivals take place during the season so we will most certainly be visiting at least one of them together!

    For us, it is important that both parties are prepared to be flexible. We want you to enjoy your time here with us & will help where ever we can to make your stay a great experience. We enjoy interesting company & like to relax ourselves, so we hope you will happily join us for a glass of wine on the terrace when the days' work is done!
    Michelle is an experienced & creative cook, making good use of the organic produce from the garden - we love to spend time with our guests & friends sharing a great meal!
    The Villa kitchen provides a diverse range of cuisine - ranging from the most authentic local & regional Italian dishes to Vegetarian, Vegan, G/Free & Paleo (yes, it's possible in Italy!) Some other cuisines are catered for from time-to-time, depending on the needs of our guests will most certainly not leave our table hungry! We also like to bake our own bread, make our own jam & source produce locally when possible. We are proud of our kitchen ethic where each meal is lovingly prepared from scratch, from the best produce possible & we are committed to this way of life.

    Life is slow in the Umbrian countryside & our days are spent doing a little work in the mornings, afterwards enjoying an alfresco lunch under the chestnut tree & in the evening, after an aperativo on the terrace, dinner would be served at the long table indoors or perhaps a BBQ on the deck... We look forward to welcoming you, sharing our home & enjoying some fun times together! Regarding work schedules - we are happy for our helpers to work during the week, which is a perfect arrangement, leaving the weekends free for you to explore the nearby towns or cities as you desire. The best arrangement for us if you are looking at staying a week, would be Sunday - Sunday, as it is easier for us to collect/return you to public transport.
    FYI... to the south, Rome is 1.5 hrs by train or car & the same distance to Florence, to the north.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own very comfortable room, with private bathroom. We currently prefer singles as there really aren't enough tasks for 2 people at the same time, so therefore we can't host couples at this stage...but that may change as different seasons present different work loads.
    Although we prefer not to have television here, there is WiFi internet - at times a little unreliable due to our location - hundreds of books, lots of music, games, DVD's, some musical instruments & we are happy for you to bring your own!
    Regarding the internet, the access is not unlimited as we rely on it for our business and our paying guests - if you will be needing a lot of on-line time, we suggest you bring your own (mobile chiavetta)...they are not expensive and offer plenty of good pre-paid deals, available at any supermarket or TIM store. We can help you with that.
    The surrounding environment is a peaceful, inspiring place for artists and nature lovers. Our own bicycles are available when not being used by guests & the stunning countryside is waiting to be explored with so many lovely walks close to the house. There is a fabulous local restaurant at a 2 km walk, specialising in local truffle dishes, home-made pasta & pizza. A public swimming pool is located in Spoleto (which can be reached a by local bus).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is a well known walking & cycling area...the forest is pristine & beautiful. The house is surrounded by pretty farming, vine, cherry, olive & truffle fields. A local bus can collect you at the property when you wish to explore on your own. There are many local festivals during the summer season & these are a great way to meet the locals. You will be immersed in the authentic local way of life, however you must remember, this is the country-side so if you prefer clubs & pubs on your days off, this is probably not the place for you..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 777371781184