Come to Brittany, France and help with our B&B and animals....



Favourited 194 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description


    *️*️*️UPDATE JULY 2017*️*️*️: I am urgently looking for help in AUGUST 2017 due to lots of new B&B and gite bookings! I am looking for someone who is happy to help me clean and set up guest rooms, make beds, do laundry, walk the dogs etc. Would be suitable for someone (or couple) who can learn quickly, don't mind getting their hands dirty and likes using their initiative. If you have your own transport that would be an advantage so you can travel around on your time off, but is not essential - we can help with info about public transport and we have bikes to borrow. Please contact me for more info if you can get to central Brittany for the beginning of August...Many thanks for reading this...Karen

    We are an English family who have lived In Brittany for 10 years. I run a B&B from our home and with my husband, run a property management business looking after gites and 2nd homes in the Josselin area for owners who live outside France. Both my children are now living and working/studying back in the UK. We are living in our 2nd renovation project and there is still scope to renovate inside and improve the gardens. There would be plenty of odd jobs - some heavy lifting may be required, not full building work but DIY/painting skills would be useful.

    We have 2 dogs (help with dog walking always appreciated!), 4 cats and chickens, so you must like animals to come and stay! In return, we offer good homecooked food, conversation in English and good company in a beautiful part of the Brittany countryside, but only a 2 minute drive from the historic town of Josselin, with its Chateau, canal, shops and restaurants.

    Having now had a number of workawayers over the last year, we have a good system of working 5 days on, 2 days off for sightseeing etc. The days off do not have to be a weekend - we are very flexible. Work starts around 9.30 in the morning and finishes around 3pm (including a break for lunch!!) although again, this is not set in stone. After that is free time - you will have your own room with ensuite, tv and wifi. You can also bring your dog with you if you have one!

    Generally, workawayers must be willing to use initiative, work on their own, not mind cleaning, gardening, walking dogs, cutting wood, weeding, painting etc etc.

    I can collect you from Rennes (airport or railway station), Dinard airport or the ferry terminal at St-Malo, if you are coming without your own transport.

    Many thanks for reading this & please get in contact if you think you can help...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are centrally located in Brittany, making it ideal to travel around the whole region. There is plenty of history, from the legends of King Arthur and Merlin right up to the 2nd World War; lots of chateaux and medieval buildings to admire but also many local concerts; poetry events and antique markets. Almost something for everyone!

  • Help


    In the house, there is lots of painting to be finished and another bedroom to renovate so there will probably be lots of painting and finishing jobs there. Outside, there is wood to be chopped for the woodburner, a large barn to be organised and the garden has been neglected whilst we have been working on the house, so there is plenty of tidying up and replanting required once the weather improves in the spring and we are just starting on the vegetable garden after a 4 year break. The 2 dogs always need walking/exercising, so help with that would be much appreciated! Please note this is NOT an "eco" project.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation


    Double room with ensuite. English TV/DVD. Wifi access.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be useful if you had your own transport, however we can pick volunteers up from the ferry/airport/railway station if required. Josselin (the nearest town) is 15 minute walk away and there are bus routes from there to other major towns/cities in Brittany if you have no transport of your own. You are also welcome to borrow bicycles when they are not being used by the B&B guests. The nearest main railway station and airport are 45 mins away in Rennes. Our previous workawayers have been able to travel around large parts of the region with some planning and staying away overnight to make the most of the time - so anything is possible!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 - 5 hours per day 5 days a week

Our house
Back garden in spring
Rick, Karen Louis, Frankie and Snoop
The Chateau at Josselin - unfortunately we do not live here!

Host ref number: 775233721374