Experience solitude with peace and quiet on an old farm house in the Druidic depths of the Breton countryside, France



Favourited 166 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I'm a British woman living in Central Brittany, France, in a farmhouse with about a hectare of land. I need women traveling alone, preferably with gardening experience and who don’t mind getting their hands dirty, to work in my garden and help look after my animals. I have 6 sheep and a flock of 24 hens which you would help take care of. We have good wifi which you may use unlimited. My house is surrounded by open countryside with lovely walks, and there are interesting places to see within a few minutes drive. You will need a vehicle to get the best out of this assignment.

    For the last 15 years I have been living here at Leimburel, at the edge of the Monts d'Arree national park in Finistere, with our three dogs, a varying number of cats (currently four) and a flock sheep and of chickens. I am asthmatic and find strenuous work beyond me now, so I need help with the garden and the house. I speak fluent French and German and some Spanish, and love meeting new people. As a former TEFL teacher I can also help you with your English if necessary!

    We are about a mile from Poullaouen, the nearest village, which is about ten miles from Carhaix-Plouguer. Poullaouen has all the usual amenities including a shop and a bar. We are also about 1hr from the coast to the west, north and south, and our house is conveniently positioned for access to the N164 and D764 main roads. It is extremely quiet and peaceful and benefits from being an ancient Druid meeting place. If you have your own car there is plenty of space to park it. Public transport is limited. The roads are good for cycling.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This opportunity is for people who primarily want to experience solitude and peace and quiet in the Druidic depths of the Breton countryside. You need a car so you can explore your surroundings, which include the rich cultural heritage of Brittany as well as the beautiful coastline and hills of the interior. Our location offers a real retreat from city life and a chance to reconnect with nature. Many days can go by here without you seeing a soul. You will have time to read, walk, think, do nothing, watch the stars and listen to the owls, and get away from the frantic pace of life so many of us are trapped by these days.
    Your experience of Breton life will be mainly within our hamlet, where you will find herds of peaceful milking cows, our chickens and sheep and a wide variety of wildlife all around. Our neighbours are all quiet people, but friendly if you come across them. If you want, you can seek out cultural experiences (music, dancing) in nearby towns such as Carhaix and Huelgoat, and in Poullaouen there is weekly Breton dancing. There are frequent "Fest Noz" events, when folk music and dancing takes place and of course there are restaurants, bars and pubs the same as everywhere in France. You have to look for these things by contacting the local tourist office.
    You will also be able to enjoy walking or cycling in the clean fresh air of the most westerly of French departments, Finistere.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I am looking for mature strong women of any age. If you are traveling alone and are looking for a remote, quiet location without many other people around in order to enjoy nature my smallholding is ideal. I need help with weeding and watering the vegetable garden, cleaning out the chickens and feeding them, and feeding the sheep. It would be useful if you have experience of those things.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You have a bedroom in the house with use of shower room etc. There is free unlimited internet access throughout the property. Reasonable use of washing machine. Because I have to follow a special diet, I need you to cook for yourself, and you have full use of the kitchen for this purpose.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have a car or bike there is much to explore in the neighbourhood and the coast is about an hour away in each direction. Nearby you can visit the fascinating rock falls at Huelgoat, and there are great walks around that area, up to King Arthur's Seat up in the forest outside Huelgoat. The Monts d'Arree are nearby for further extensive walking options. The uniquely dramatic sculpture park at the Vallee des Saints in Carnoet is only ten minutes away. The beautiful tree-lined Nantes to Brest canal is half an hour away. There are many interesting churches and holy wells and other architecture in all the local villages. There is coarse fishing in the many beautiful lakes and rivers all around. Cycling is good throughout the whole area. Carhaix is our nearest town and has a good market on Saturdays, as well as a swimming pool, cinema, concert hall, and all the usual amenties. Buses exist but aren't frequent, but I can drive you to Carhaix if you don't have your own transport. I can pick you up when you arrive from one of the nearest stations, either Guingamp or Morlaix.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hrs a day max 12 hours a week

Host ref number: 772693389856