Help to set up a creative space for workshops and festival at a farmhouse near Dobele in Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1287

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am creating a project that would occur over each summer, this summer being our second.
    The idea is to create a a community that would gather over the summer period in Latvia, holding workshops and having a large space to create. Then at the end of the summer the plan is to create a few day party which in later years would be created into a festival.
    There is a large farmhouse that was not occupied for 4 years, and another smaller house with a large plot of land surrounding the buildings where all of this would be transpiring.
    The place it self is very raw due to the fact that it had been left to rot but slowly with some love we are trying to make it blend in with its surroundings.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Art project
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think you would learn many different skills depending on when you would like to join this project.
    You would learn how to set up a mini festival, some carpentry skills.
    There will also be workshops in yoga, meditation, martial arts, music, in learning how to build and craft things. So you might learn something different depending when you arrive.

  • Help

    Help

    The help needed over the summer would vary on what you are comfortable doing.
    There will be lots of manual work, from building some necessities for the area, like extra showers or toilets
    Will be also making the place more livable due to its "raw" appearance things like plastering, painting and cleaning out. We will be making a garden, a watch tower is on the to do list, there are some projects planned in dealing with flower pots and plating through using materials found around the property to be recycled and not just as flower pots but to be recycled in different ways either for decorating or practical use.
    Would be totally up to you on where and how much you want to get involved.
    Learning from last year especially coming up to the festival which will transpire on the weekend starting from the 17th of August, I will be getting very busy, so if you do come around this time I hope your a little hands on with ability to initiate some help, however if you do visit at this time there will be many more people around that will be getting invloved with their own projects and sure will need some help....
    For coming at any other time I will be there with you and with things to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Latvian, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Over the summer period you might be stayingon the property, where i am planning to build a place to sleep in hammocks or in the two houses that are there, having a bedroom to yourself or having to share a dorm to sleep in.
    My mum lives in a large house in the countryside around 30 min drive away, its spacious, we have a dog and a few cats,
    If you wish to stay there and if she likes you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Both my mums home and the the farmhouse are away from villages so there is not too much to see but nature, there are lakes to swim in, forests to explore.
    The closest bus is 30 min walk away which you would be able to catch into Jelgava or Dobele the two closet towns, or a bus to Riga would take 2 hours.
    If enough trust is built you would be able to drive around Latvia or in days of would be doing this together.
    When arriving to Latvia, I would pick you or arrange for a pick up to get you settled and introduced to everyone.
    Im doing mostly with my best friend Leroy, so most of the time you would be spending with us.
    We are quite spontaneous in our actions so if you join us, be ready to go on some adventures.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

There is no child But this is me and Leroy who are making it all happen
This is my mothers house
This is the farmhouse with the land surrounding it from above, unfortunately I don't have another photo


Host ref number: 771542228748