Help at a B&B in south-west Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 302 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    61  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an expat family of five. My husband and I are both English teachers. The children, a girl and two boys, are nine, eight and four years old. They all go to the local school.

    After more than ten years in Spain, we moved to a finca of five acres in the heart of Extremadura. We are still new at marketing our B&B, but proud to see the business is picking up. Beside the B&B, we are preparing to start offering residential language courses (English and Spanish) soon.

    We buy locally-grown organic vegetables and free-range meat and try to eat healthy. We are really keen to start growing our own fruits and vegetables too.

    We have two cats, Max and Ruby, 6 chickens, and a dog called Dina. We tried having rabbits too, but they always ended up escaping. There were plans to have a couple of donkeys or goats, but they have been put on hold. Instead, we let our neigbour's cows graze on our land.

    We need help around the house/finca and with guests (if around). We welcome workawayers from September to June, summer months are just too hot.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multilingual family. Paul is English, I am Croatian, and all three children speak Spanish too. Apart from gaining experience doing various jobs, you will be able to practice your English with us (we are both qualified teachers). You will be able to enjoy the peace and calm of the countryside, and if you wish to explore the area in your free time, you'll be able to see some really nice places.

  • Help

    Help

    In May 2014 we moved from a tiny two-bedroom apartment into a newly-built house on a 5-acre piece of land and are now a fully registered B&B. Let's just say the amount of work (indoors and outdoors) is overwhelming. No surprise we are constantly looking for volunteers to help with all kinds of (mainly unskilled) jobs and general maintenance.

    Depending on the time of year, you will be expected to help us with guests, keeping the house clean & tidy, cooking, watering the plants, decorating/painting, landscaping, cutting grass, treating wood, picking figs and olives, creating outdoor chill-out areas, assembling furniture, repairing bikes, walking the dog and keeping an eye on the children while we pop into the village for some quick errands or are busy at home. If you have experience in marketing, we'd love you to help us market our B&B better, maybe translate our website into your language.

    With so much work to choose from, it shouldn't be too difficult to find something that suits your abilities and preferences, but you shouldn't be too picky either! After all, no professional skills are required for any of these jobs.

    Generally, our volunteers work in the morning and have the afternoon off. Weekends are free and we can occasionally give you a lift to a nearby town, but you are expected to make your own travel arrangements if you want to do any travelling or sight-seeing in your free time. With three children to look after, we cannot commit to give you a ride to the village or back, so expect to do some walking or cycling too. But it's a lovely walk, one we do a lot when it's not too hot.

    The expected length of stay will vary depending on your availability and the time of the year and the amount of work needed. It might be anywhere between a week or two, or even a month.

    Food and drinks are on us. We provide one cooked meal a day, usually lunch (at 2.30pm), and if on a different timetable to ours, you are expected to do your own breakfasts and suppers, helping yourself to anything in our cupboards and the fridge.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The finca is only 2km away from the nearest village, and boasts spectacular views. It is surrounded with olive and fig trees, old holm oaks and grazing land. There is plenty of wildlife and birdwatchers will enjoy the variety of bird species.

    The house is on the grid, the water supply is our own (borehole) and we have a 4G WI-FI internet connection 24/7. We have geothermal power for underfloor heating during the cooler months (roughly November-April) and for cooling the house in the hot months (the hottest being July and August).

    You will sleep in a room with a double bed and an en-suite bathroom with hot-water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our nearby village of Almoharin is located in the heart of Extremadura, at the foot of the Sierra de Montanchez. Caceres, Trujillo and Merida are all 45-minutes by car. There are buses to Caceres and a nearby town of Miajadas. From there you can catch a bus (or a train in Caceres) to other nearby towns, as well as to Madrid, Seville and Cordoba.

    The nearest airports are Madrid, Seville and Lisbon (all a 3-hour ride). From all three you can get a bus to Caceres, and then to Miajadas (UNION BUS), which is where we can pick you up. From Madrid, there is a direct bus to Miajadas (SAMAR bus company).

    You will not be insured to drive our car, but you are free to use the mountain bikes to get to the village, or further. There are several corner shops, banks, a post office, a hardware store, places to eat and drink and other facilities in the village.

    The locals are very kind and helping, with many of them eager to practise their English, so only a basic level of Spanish is needed to get around. But if you want to work on your Spanish, all you need to do is go to local bars and start a conversation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

best friends
Daddy's little helpers
a bit messy maybe, but what a view!
Verde que te quiero verde
Painting the kitchen window
Repairing a stone wall
The house
The king and queen of the finca
Ocacsionally, we have sheep grazing on the finca


































Host ref number: 179875181366