Help on our little slice of Paradise near beautiful beaches and surrounds in Whangarei, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very energetic couple who love to have fun. We have 2 adult daughters (and son in laws) and 4 young grandchildren who live close by and who are a huge part of our lives. We have a large lifestyle block that we enjoy in between pursuing our other interests, so we are always busy! We have had many lovely visitors here in the past, who have enjoyed the flexibility which allowed them to explore what we have to offer in the environment.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy having visitors and like to share a typical Kiwi life and to hear about other cultures and lifestyles. We brew our own beer (25 yrs), grow lots of vegetables, and try to live off our land as much as is possible. We go sailing, fishing, scuba diving, kayaking and generally just enjoy the NZ great outdoors. A great opportunity for visitors to experience some of these things first hand. We live close to a great town and to the north of us there is lots to see and learn about New Zealands history.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for energetic and enthusiastic helpers who enjoy the outdoors. We need help with all sorts of gardening and maintaining our little slice of paradise. Visitors have the opportunity to experience on a small scale management and handling of sheep and cattle, and general lifestyle block management. We also have a little Bach on the east coast, 20 mins from our place that we go to, to maintain and enjoy. We encourage visitors to use our place as a base for exploring our beautiful surrounds.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a completely separate sleep out from the house. It has a great kitchen/dining area, separate sleeping room/lounge area with a wood burner. This has a queen size and single bed. The shower is situated in the converted cowshed...now a brew room and Bar.
    There is also a small bedroom here with a double bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have enjoyed traveling, and the outdoors and dreamed of owning our own property so that we could have a good work/life balance. We live in a beautiful valley, surrounded by bush, streams and swimming holes. We live close to many beautiful white sandy beaches. Our Bach is basic, with no electricity, is 15 minutes walk to the longest walk bridge in the southern hemisphere, next to beautiful coastal walking tracks, with a beautiful view on sunrise from bed. We live 30 minutes from town, so having a vehicle is an advantage, but we do go into town twice a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The "Cowshed" Bar
The Family
Lexi who thinks she knows best
Beautiful fresh Northland Snapper!!
Feeding out silage with Pippa to the cattle
15lb snapper, let it go back home
A little slice of paradise
Sleep out - separate accommodation
The other view of a slice of our paradise

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 771166592179