Help on a family run farm not far from Ottawa

  • Favourited 13 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have an 80 acre hobby farm with cash crops of soybeans and hay. We also have vegetable and flower gardens for our own use. My husband Chris and I have recently retired. Our children have recently moved out but continue to visit often. We are about 25 minutes from downtown Ottawa and about 10 minutes from the city limits and access to buses.
    If you would like to come help us we can provide private accommodation and food for volunteering 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We have an above ground pool to cool off on the hot days.
    Work would include working in the gardens and grounds, helping with the stacking hay in barn, clean up in the out buildings, house cleaning and cooking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Being a working farm there is no end to the possible jobs. We have a large garden to be tended to. There is hay to be brought into the barn and stacked. Wood to be split and stacked.
    Lawns to be mowed and trimmed, barns to be repaired and organized. Work in the house, cleaning and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home has two large private rooms available with there own bath room.
    We would love to accept couples traveling together sharing a room.
    There is games room and patio at back of house with view of the farm fields.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ottawa is the capital of Canada. The city is situated along the Ontario side of the Ottawa River, opposite Gatineau, Quebec. The metropolitan population of Ottawa is 1.1 million and is the fourth largest city in Canada.

    Unique as a North American capital, the city is bilingual. English is the first language of a majority of the population, but French is the first language of a significant number. Staff in most downtown stores and restaurants speak both well and, in general, bilingualism is common.

    The city is probably best known as the nation's capital but has become one of the fastest growing cities in North America owing to low crime, low unemployment, and the high-tech business sector.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a desk in private room. High Speed unlimited wifi is available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space and options for parking a campervan on the farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 765892155299

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback









French speaker to share family life and play with our kids in Maple Ridge, Canada
Help out our family of four in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada