Come hang with us and help with a few light home projects in Portland, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come hang with us in Portlandia!!! We have a beautifully curated sprawling ranch in the Montavilla neighborhood of NE Portland. We are walking distance to coffee shops, bars, restaurants, yoga, and crossfit. We are a 1.5 mile walk/bike to Mount Tabor, Portlands very own active volcano/ city park with trails and more!!!

    We recently purchased a new home! Our project is renovating the basement as a living space. We could use some help with a few projects including painting, floor installation, basic plumbing, and finishing touches. We also could use help with some yard maintenance. Our puppy Ollie also likes adventures and some days taking him out on a long hike would be the most helpful. In Portland, Oregon you will be surrounded by incredible food, outdoor adventures, and one of the most bikeable cities in the North America. You can borrow one of our bikes to explore the city, or use public transportation. Nearby attractions include the scenic Columbia Gorge (bike tourable), the Oregon Coast (bike tourable), Mount Hood, Mount St. Helens, Mount Adams...and so much more. Portland, OR has many opportunities for the outdoor enthusiest, city adventurer, and also many cultural activities.

    We do have a second car (manual transmission/stick shift) that might be available from time to time for visitors with a clean driving record and an active drivers license.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We'd love to make some dinners together and share recipes and stories. We love to play backgammon or watch a show in the evening. We know a lot about the native flora and fauna and love sharing about this. Meg owns a preschool and Kristi is a nurse. We have a two extra bikes to share and there are many bike paths/streets close to us and all around Portland. We live in the Montavilla neighborhood of NE/SE Portland. We're close to public transportation, the Columbia River Gorge, Mt Tabor and a straight shot to downtown.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi there! We (Kristi and Meg) are renovating our basement. Depending on when you arrive during our renovation you could help with painting, installing baseboards, sanding, weed whacking, hedge trimming, watering, planting a fall garden, and taking our puppy out on adventures. We have a charming mini aussie puppy and he loves walks, going to the dog park, and trail adventures. We bnb one of the bedrooms, so there will be other guests from time to time and so we value a clean living space. The only help we need with bnb is maintaining a clean living space (i.e. picking up after yourself and cleaning your dishes/kitchen after use).

    There is no fixed schedule. We will leave you a list of things to do and you can get them done on your time frame for the day. Our request is that you are physically able to do light tasks for 4-5 hours/day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'd have your own private room and a shared bathroom. You are welcome to join us for any breakfast or dinners we are cooking. If you want to cook a meal we will provide ingredients! You can make meals with the food provided in the house. We ask that if you do cook meals please clean up the kitchen after because of the bnb guests. Please purchase your own alcohol. We are a smoke free house inside and outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live a simple and quiet life at home. We love to cook dinner together and go to new and beloved Portland restaurants. Meg works a lot and Kristi loves to run in her time off. We rise early and go to bed at a reasonable hour. We love to play backgammon or watch a show in the evening. We're working hard on our new home, so it seems like this is a lot of what we do at the moment...as we mentioned, we value a clean living space, good conversations around the kitchen table and to hang with Ollie, our pup.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 611986345845