Help start an awesome project in the tropical hinterland of Brisbane, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/03/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help start an awesome project in the tropical hinterland of Brisbane

    Im Markus, im a 45yr old Swiss guy and Australian Permanent Resident, who just bought a 10acres property a bit outside of Brisbane, and who would like to invite you to join my project.

    I've run a workaway projects from 2015-2019 in Switzerland, with over 200 happy volunteers, see here:


    I was married to an Australian woman until 2017 and we lived in Switzerland and ran our renovation project there.
    After our separation she moved back to Australia with our son, and i followed to live closer to my son. Thats how i came about this new property and this new project here in Brisbane.

    The property is located in Upper Brookfield, just west of Brisbane (20km to the CBD of Brisbane), on a breezy hill.
    It consists of a main house with 6 bedrooms, a cottage adjacent to the house, and two barns for horses, and 10acres of grassland and bush.

    The longterm, 5 year plan, is to convert the current horse stable (on a 120m2 concrete slab) into a fully functional house with the potential to be used as a shared communal space for a community of likeminded spirits, interested in music, art, healthy living, education etc, incl. Seminars and Workshops.

    At the moment, end of march 2020, we are a team of five people, living and working together here on the farm.

    We live together, we work together, we cook and eat together

    Im building up a team of ca. 10 people to live and work with me here on the property and drive forward the project.

    I am open to all people of different nationalities, languages, personalities and experience

    skilled people with experience landscaping, building, plumbing, electrical are especially wanted,
    but generally everybody with the right attitude who wants to make a contribution to the project, is welcomed here.

    Tell me about your dreams in life, about your motivation to join the project,
    tell me about your skills, your talents, your background - and i'll tell you if have a match!?

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like nature, healthy living, and being creating in whatever form - building, fixing things, cooking, art - then you will have a great time here.

    I speak German, English, French, and a bit of Spanish and Russian.
    In this project you can bring in you personality and your skills, whatever background you have.

  • Help

    Help

    I provide healthy food and luxurious accommodation in a great house, out in the nature,
    and ask in return for 25h/week in return.

    Usually I try to work 4 days per week x ca. 6h/day, so you can have a long 3 day weekend off,
    however this depends on the weather and current projects. So we might do some long days cutting the grass while the sun is out, and then chill for three days when it rains. I am quite flexible and you must be, too.

    After work we often have a swim down in the creek or in the Gold Creek Reservoir which is 15min drive away from the house,

    For the weekends we can organise trips to Brisbane City or the Beaches of Redcliffe or Sandgate (30min by car), Byron (100min by car), the Gold Coast (70min), the Sunshine Coast (70min), Noosa Heads (2h)


    The work currently (march 2020) consists of:

    - maintaining the property (cutting grass, bush and lantana, cutting trees, clearing all the gutters from leaves and branches), insulating a roof, cutting windows into the shed, sanding and restoring old furniture
    - building new infrastructures: converting a small 20m2 horseshed into a self-contained cabin (insulating, installing plumbing for toilet/sink/kitchenette), installing solar panels
    - building a pond with natural materials (rocks from the river)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have three more bedrooms in the main house, and two cottages on the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is 20km outside of Brisbane CBD, but theres no bus leading up to the house, so we are dependent on vehicles. I have a motorbike and a car, and as we don't need to go shopping or to the city daily, we can share the car at the moment.

    I can not provide you with transport; If you show enthusiasm with helping me with the project, I will however be happy to take you out on the weekends or let you use the car so you can ex

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25h/week, flexible, but usually 4 days x 6 hours


Host ref number: 764745485691