Help with childcare and household tasks in Blönduós, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 756 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/06/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five. We have three daughters 10, 6 and 4 years old. Me (Kolla) and my husband (Atli) are in our thirties and we both work out of the farm.

    We live in a farm in a valley in the north of Iceland. Nearest towns are Blönduós (about 15 km away) and Skagaströnd (about 21 km away).

    The valley is called Laxárdalur and is a beautiful place with rather much snow in the wintertime and beautiful northern lights but lovely quiet summers.

    We are "hobby farmers". We have horses, sheep and dogs so someone who has experience of farm animals would be ideal :)

    We are interested in hosting an open and friendly girl who loves kids and has experience with horses. We would like to welcome the right person into our home for one month or longer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chance to stay in an Icelandic country side and get to know the Icelandic horse and the life on a farm. Chance to learn some basic Icelandic.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a fun, hardworking and open minded girl who would like to participate in all the tasks that needs to be done at our home and farm.

    Stable help - Mucking stable boxes, feeding horses in the morning, training (if experienced rider).
    Kids - sometimes babysitting our three girls (playing with them) -
    House choirs - Helping with the usual house choirs as laundry - Cleaning - cooking - this is the "never ending story" for a family with 3 kids! :)

    We are a busy family with a full time job and a lot of hobbies so a pair of extra hands in the family are very useful :) Kolla enjoys horses and likes to use all the time she can get for horse back riding and Atli likes to go fishing when that is possible. Atli is also very hardworking and is usually working on some projects at home when he is not at work. We try to make sure our volunteer can also do some horse back riding and other things she likes while her stay with us. We also encourage our guests to see more of Iceland while staying with our family.

    Our girls all speak english and it would be very nice if they could learn a bit of another language.

    We have 2 dogs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private bedroom for our guest.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Tourist information about the area at northwest.is

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Our new foal :)
Þórdís Katla (3 on picture but now 5 years old), Atli and Kolla with one of our breeding mares and her foal :)








Host ref number: 759964823334