General small renovation tasks/maintenance and gardening needed in countryside location near the sea. Wales UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 131 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    -{ Really looking for workaways from Europe & Russia/Ukraine }-

    Hi there, my name is Seth and I'm a middle-aged British guy with a professional background in I.T, English language teaching and photography.
    I bought a large detached countryside house with my brother & sister. It has 11 bedrooms and has 3 parts, each with separate kitchen, bathrooms etc and need help with renovation and maintenance of the property both interior and exterior.

    My brother and sister are not living at the property this season, although they will be visiting sometimes, so mostly I live alone here while doing the renovations.

    I love playing tennis, squash, badminton, windsurfing, archery, mountain climbing, camping/hiking, computers, guitar and photography. I'd be happy to do (or teach) any of these sports with any workawayer who is interested. Also I have a passion for philosophy, spirit and metaphysics and looking deeper in the world's mysteries and I'm currently writing a book / thesis in this field.

    Our property is up on a hill and surrounded by nature, fields, small wild woods and there is breathtaking coastline & beaches the other side of the hill (3km).

    Our local town (Cardigan) is a peaceful picturesque historic town with part of an ancient castle and a beautiful river running through it to the sea nearby. It's a quiet area, far from the noise of the city. I have several good bicycles, you can cycle into town in 20 minutes or to the local beach or coast walk (also 20 minutes).

    Also I have 2 lovely young cats (20 months old) who live out in the studio and love to be stroked and given some attention (they only live outdoors and don't come in the house).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This exchange will really be only suitable for a person who is quite independent, knows how to occupy themselves (with books/internet/walking in the nature/cycling/swimming etc). There are buses from the local town and I have bicycles you can use, so mostly you can explore this area alone in your free time as I am too busy to go out with you often (sorry about that, but I'm often rather busy, but a couple of times during your stay we will go out on an interesting excursion somewhere (paid by me).

    I am around to socialise for about an hour in the evening on most days and on some renovation projects we will work together, so you will have good language practice if you wish. I'm happy to go with you by car to some cultural events happening around. Also I can play sport with you such as tennis, badminton, squash, table-tennis, archery).

    I am a qualified English teacher, so I can give some help each week with English (and photography lessons or computer software lessons such as Photoshop etc).

    So mostly this is a Workaway exchange of:

    - experiencing local Welsh cultural events (when they occur) and life in the local town of Cardigan.
    - free nutritious food and good accommodation at a house in the countryside near the sea
    - a calm, quiet, cosy space that is ideal for your private studies, yoga, meditation, relaxation, coastal walks etc
    - some help or practice in: English, photography, computer software or in sports such as tennis/badminton/squash/tabletennis.
    - bicycles available for you to explore the beautiful nature and coastline
    - An excursions each week, to visit, for example: castles, iron-age forts, waterfalls, hiking on the hills or cliffs, secluded beaches and caves, seals or dolphin watching, Lagoon aqua park, St David's cathedral, maybe canoeing on the river).

  • Help


    It would be nice to have somebody here to stay at the place who loves the peaceful countryside, sea and nature and who is rather independent and able and happy to occupy their own time, because I will be very busy and only able to spend one day each week to drive you to some excursions / good sightseeing places / attractions in West Wales.

    The schedule is quite flexible and you can usually choose which parts of each day you wish to do the tasks..

    Examples of tasks to help with:

    - Removing an old shed (dismantling)
    - Painting the exterior of the house (I can show how to do this)
    - Tidying the shed and the old dance studio
    - Moving stones and logs
    - Cutting some firewood
    - Watering the plants in the garden and weeding
    - Feeding the 2 cats
    - Managing the recycling
    - Cooking a meal each day (generally vegetarian (nothing difficult required), however I can also cook if you prefer not to do this.
    - Washing up the dishes
    - Trimming some tree branches
    - Painting wood preserver on the eaves just under the roof of the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Russian

  • Accommodation


    Initially it's preferred to take on a workaway volunteer for up to 10 to 13 days maximum (however this might be extended if all goes well).

    It's a detached rural house a few km from an idylic small seaside town. Very peaceful and quiet, water from a spring source, lovely nature around and fresh air (can be rather windy here at times though).
    Our guest volunteer(s) will have own smart, warm, clean private bedroom and smart bathroom nearby and shared kitchen, living room.

    The house has amenities to a high standard: such as washing machine, cooker, good electric shower, bath, Fibre broadband fast internet WIFI etc.
    The living room is cosy with a large woodburner for evening relaxing. We have here a table-tennis table and also badminton net, and various table games too. There are also tennis courts in Cardigan.
    The house has central heating and also extra electric heaters, so you won't be cold. Electric shower gives hot water 24/7. Your room has a brand new renovation, new carpets etc and is dry and warm with a proper bed and good mattress, duvet etc.

    This is a very healthy place to be! - the air is totally clean & fresh and we we have pure spring water from the taps. Try to buy all organic and natural products too.
    There will be always plenty of good quality food for a tasty breakfast, lunch and supper each day for you. (Mostly semi-vegetarian eg: soya/quorn/beans/cheese, also eggs, some fish) with grains/vegetables etc. Cereals / porridge, toast / yoghurt / fruit for breakfast. If you need meat, that is fine - you can cook it for yourself (but no pork and no frying meat).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there is a video of some of my teaching here:

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    18 hours max

Mwnt beach - our favourite beach for picnics and sunbathing. It is 15 minutes by car from our house. The coastline here is beautiful for walks, and the waves here are sometimes great for surfing
The coast path looking north. (4km from our house)
Ceibr bay - hidden cove on the coast of the Irish sea. Beautiful walks around here!
Cilgerran castle ruins 5km from our house. You can walk inside and up to the top of the castle - amazing view across the valley
View of the historic bridge and Cardigan castle in the background
View from the top of the hill behind our house (400m walk) which looks across our valley to the estuary where the river Teifi meets the Irish sea.
Our house, front view (spring)
This is the room where you will stay
It's our kitchen
Our living room - view of one half of it
One of the many amazing local sculptures at the wildlife park nearby (it is made from a planted tree that is still living).
It's me. On a mountaineering expedition in the Caucasus that I just returned from a few months ago.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 759879468963