Learn to build a low cost low impact home and help build different size domes in Vale de Prazeres, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/02/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    113

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a family of 4, myself, and my partner Tim and two of our children, Adam 24 and Rhyvre7. We live a happy life on our two hectare farm in central Portugal at the foot of the Gardhuna hills close to the Estrella mountains. We are close to a train station which links us to major towns and cities. We are a ten minute walk away from a lovely village called Vale dear Prazeres, which has two shops, a pharmacy, baker, post office, medical center, and many bars and cafes.
    On our land we are starting at the beginning, a lot of bramble and gorse clearing has-been done with the help of our cuddly goats, jasmine and sunny.
    We keep pigs for the production of meat, and with this we do kill and butcher our own animals for our own food, also extra for trade with friends. So bear this in mind when you are considering joining us, it's not something we do everyday, and a great deal of care and respect is given to the animals.
    We also have birds, of various types, again for eating, either eggs or meat.
    We have dogs and cats also.
    All our animals are with us for a purpose, and while they are considered a source of food, we treat them with love and respect and are well cared for.
    So our aims are to build for ourselves our for everyone, using the geodesic dome method, which can be described in more detail if you wish to join us.
    Another project which is mine, us a biosphere, for the production of tropical fruits and plants, again more details can be given on enquiry.
    We have for accommodation a large six by three meter done suitable for up to six people to sleep in, there are also many flat shady areas for tents.
    the construction of an outdoor kitchen and shower room and dry compost loo is also some nice little side projects.
    In return for your help, we will feed you three decent meals per day, a glass of wine or beer with dinner if you fancy, we have laundry facilities for a small donation, also hot showers.
    We also have a pool to cool off when it's too hot to work, with a large outdoor pool in the village nearby, also a large river beach a short drive away.
    So, we have a small daughter who is very friendly and inquisitive, we are meat eaters, we drink alcohol, and Tim and Adam are smokers.
    We are not set up for fancy camping, or to accommodate other dog's, and children as we have some areas of open water.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn to build a low cost low impact home, also there are opportunities for other workshop experiences outside our own projects, also many different and useful skills like food raising, from conception to the preservation of the produce. To preserve the skills being lost in modern life.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love helpers to get stuck in and be able to envisage our plans with us, to be self motivated, keen to learn,, we will be building different size domes from different materials,as well as other projects. So any woodworking, metal working, or gardening skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large geodesic dome, with beds, or flat shaded camping grounds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of walking routes, swimming areas, and a train to go and explore the cities and towns, the medieval village of Monsanto is close by, also an area with a fossil trail and river beach, we are also about 30 mins drive to the Spanish border.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 758774826398