Assist with building, organic gardening and house care in Dunsborough, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 302 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am single and now share my family home with a couple. My daughters have all left home to live in Perth to study at University this year.
    We live on an eight acre property in the forest. Our home which I hand built sits high on a hill looking out over the bush to the ocean. It is very beautiful, quiet and secluded but also within walking distance (3 km) of our town

    I am a wood craftsman and make furniture from my home based workshop. I have 31 years of experience in the building and construction industry. I am multi skilled in many areas of business, construction and commerce.

    We have two small organic vegetable gardens and a small orchard for our home use . We also keep chickens for meat and eggs. I love cooking and use mostly organic, unprocessed foods. We have a very self reliant and sustainable lifestyle in which we make caring for our environment our highest priority.

    I have spent the last 5 years building a second house on our property. It's made of rock (from our land) bricks and timber. I am doing all of the work myself with the help of volunteers. This house is nearly finished.

    I need help with general property maintenance, gardening and some work in the new house.

    Volunteers will stay in our home and there is a choice of rooms. Both are large, private and comfortable

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to engage with other cultures by travelling or by bringing people from other cultures in to share with us. Our focus in home life has to been to become as independent, self-sustaining and low consuming as we can achieve.
    Volunteers will learn much about self-sustainability and building.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly I just need another pair of hands to work with me. All the really heavy and hard work is done. The new building site is on our property and about 100 metres from our home. No skills are required as I will teach the volunteer any skills needed. Male or female and any age.

    I like to work in the mornings and have a siesta in the afternoon or go to the beach! You will have most afternoons and all weekends to explore this beautiful coast. There will be some house cleaning, gardening and property maintenance work to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This is a split level home on the side of a hill The main part of the house is on the top level and has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. My housemates live downstairs and have a very large bedroom with a big verandah and great views.
    There is a lovely bedroom upstairs for you. It is close to the bathroom, toilet and living areas. Lovely elevated bush views, quiet and private
    I keep one bedroom for my family to use on visits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The South West is a very beautiful part of Australia and we have a very comfortable Mediterranean type climate with warm summers and mild winters. Our home is very well positioned as a base to go off and explore the region.

    We live in a world class surfing area with magnificent coastline. Dunsborough is a modern, small coastal tourist town with a permanent population of 4000 which swells to about 18,000 in summer. There is lot's to see and do. We have a fantastic natural environment and a long, long summer!

    Our volunteers will get the opportunity to learn about house building, organic gardening and sustainable living. I am multi skilled and have much that I can share with you.

    There is public transport in Dunsborough. There are taxis, or a 15 minute walk to get to town, I am happy to allow volunteers to use my old work vehicle to use locally if I feel comfortable about their safety.

    Tourism is the major industry of this region. There is plenty of work available in the area all year but especially in Spring and summer. All previous volunteers who have wanted paid work have found it easy to find employment. There is lots of work available here in tourism, hospitality and agriculture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    unlimited high speed wireless internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 mornings per week - about 10 hours each week for accommodation only, volunteers to provide their own meals,

Host ref number: 758189864874

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback