Help build an off-grid house in the blue mountains of Megalong Valley, Australia

  • Favourited 851 times
  • Last activity: 9 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi ! I’m Chris, a retired Sydney Firefighter who has studied Sculpture and photography at the National art school in Sydney and continue to practice Art and freely pass on my knowledge to others .I’m building an off grid home on my property in the Megalong Valley NSW utilising recycled materials as much as possible. It is a remote bush location approximately 1 hours drive from the township of blackheath. I have been a vegetarian and regular meditator for the past 25 years with an interest in buddhism and Yoga..I spend several months of the year traveling overseas most recently Japan and Europe! I love connecting with people from all cultures and happy to welcome you to my part of the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer guidance in art,meditation and building skills which i would be happy to share. Also some vegetarian campfire cooking lessons!I take Workaway guests to visit local nature areas and Buddhist temple in the blue mountains and Sydney.

  • Help

    Help

    I am building an off grid bush dwelling and art studio in a remote bush property. Some creative skills or experience with building or gardening are preferable. I also need help with gardening and bush regeneration. I’m utilising recycled building materials wherever possible and need help organising material and cleaning and preparing building site. I have also been restoring my liveaboard yacht in Sydney. Please contact me only if you seriously intend on coming. Thanks!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in learning Japanese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Basic Bush camping accommodation in tents.only battery power and rainwater available. Vegetarian and vegan food will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Swimming, bushwaking and visits to local historic villages nearby and meditation centre.Pickup available from Katoomba,blue mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 234986622753

Feedback (22)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)


























Help with outdoor projects and contribute to a sustainable lifestyle Geeveston, TAS, Australia
House sharing and lifestyle, beach, forest and health in Worongary, Australia