Livning in the country in sountern BC, Canada



Favourited 110 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    My home is just off a back country road, along a most beautiful, wild river - the Slocan river, situated on the side of the mountain. I live in a typical country home, heating with wood heat in the winter, and growing a large garden in the summer. This is a great place to learn about country living and what it means to live in a rural setting of Canada.

    The work that will be done this summer includes building a wooden structure for covering the trailer, fixing the fence around the garden that keeps the deer and wild turkeys out!), possibly electrifying it to ward off bears; gardening galore; pruning fruit trees -- 6 varieties of apples, asian pear and regular pear trees, as well as walnut trees; worm composting, and general upkeep of a house that needs everything from dusting to sweeping/mopping floors, getting a wood supply in for the winter; carpentry and genera handyman stuff.

    Being here involves working on the land and learning how the land can support you.

    Depending on the skills and interests you bring, it could range from cleaning to carpentry, pruning to plumbing, dog walking to log splitting/stacking. Taking dog for walk/feeding/brushing. . .

    Please note, I live on a quiet country road, and because of all the fruit trees, wild life abounds from wild turkeys to bears (see picture #2- bear in cherry tree). You must be prepared for life on the edge of wilderness. It would be most helpful if you can come with skills, but not a requirement. Attitude and willingness to learn/help are most important.

    I live with a most incredible dog who is kind, caring and respectful. All the other animals are wild.

    Please write me for more information about being here. Food/activities,expectations etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to live outside a city, on the land and what that entails. Drink fresh mountain water, breath clean crisp air, walk in nature. . .

    This summer, I would like to investigate the possibility of building solar panels agains the hill that lines the property. More on this later, as things develop.

  • Help


    This old house is always in need of a nail and hammer somewhere, a fresh coat of paint here or there; The garden -- well, from weeding to watering to planting/harvesting, always lots of work there to keep one busy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Private accommodation in the large trailer, with its own kitchen, living space and bedroom, and which provides easy access to the river.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Winlaw is an incredible town in a most remarkable valley. It has a welcoming and diverse community with music, art, great restaurants, adventures galore. Pristine wilderness.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours/day, depending on weather (max 25 hours)

Host ref number: 756515568225