A northern cultural experience in a family of Iqaluit, Nunavut

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with 4 children (1 to 10 years old). We live in a really Northern city: toundra (no trees), lot of wind and snow (and blizzards), great Northern light (aurora borealis). This city is isolated, no road linked it to any other communities, you will have to fly to come here and discover it, a unique cultural experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At home, we speak French, but we all know some English too and a few words in Inuktitut, the local language. We live in a multicultural city (lot of English and Inuktitut too), with a lot of traditional activity organized by local associations. For exemple, every April is a igloo building contest. This is a language learning opportunity and cultural experience.

  • Help

    Help

    This is a cultural experience for a workaday who want to learn French or English, or teach our children more languages. The helper will be babysitting and playing with our kids, organizing outdoor activity with them, helping in the house (like putting the toys away and washing dishes). One parent is working full time and the other is a part-time student and need the helper to play with the kids some days during the week. Our baby is 1 year old, she required more attention, like being hold/carry and entertain. The helper has to LOVE winter and outdoor activity: It's sometimes very cold, we will be playing in the snow and skiddooing until beginning of June. The helper as to do some personal reading before coming to be aware as we are on Inuit land (Nunavut) and need to be open to new cultures and very respectful. All of our kids are good swimmers, love to go to the public swimming pool and we be glad to go with the helper. We will also accept a family who want to live with us for a week and help with the kids as a great workaway cultural experience.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The workaday friend will be staying in our house. He will have his own bedroom. 3 meals per day are included, and the helper is expected to be as a member of the family and sit with us, enjoy meal with the family and help after to clean. Internet doesn't work well up here and is very expensive. The helper can use the Internet to communicate, but not excessively (no videos watching, for exemple).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located close to Sylvia Grinnell Territorial Park, which is reknowed for it's river. Lot of Northern lights! Fishing, camping and geocaching is possible during summer. We have a public swimming pool in town, library, few restaurent/coffeshop, Inuit friendship center, etc. If the helper want to discover dog sleeding there is organisation such as Inukpak outfitter with really friendly staff. The helper can visit Nunavut web site for more infos.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 327733356792