Helping with Farmlet, cooking, Animal care (mainly horses) or building - great surf spots Riverton, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 257 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a farmlet in Riverton. About 200mtrs from the beach & river. Riverton is a great fishing town, awesome cafes, beaches - great surf spots. A couple of hours away from Queenstown, TeAnau & the Catlins
    I run a Riding School. I have kids come 4 days after school for group riding & also give private riding lessons (mostly dressage). I have 6 ponies that I teach on. I myself have 2 x Warm-bloods - 1 Hanoverian - 1 Holsteiner. I compete at Dressage & have a arena at home.
    What I am looking for is someone to help looking after the horses & ponies (mucking out stables & paddocks) general stable & Farmlet maintenance & maybe cooking the evening family meal.
    Would need to love horses & have knowledge of horses eg how to change covers, put halters on, lead/handle, brush, tack up, muck out stables & other stable care.
    Would also suit a couple - a male that can help with painting, building repair, fence repair & female partner could help with horse work
    Also needs to love dogs - we have a Rottweiler & a foxy.
    You also need to be reasonably fit & be able to work fast - it is quite hard physical work.
    My husband & daughter surf and are in the surf club so are able to show a surf enthusiast the local hot spots. My daughter also plays the guitar & sings so we quite frequently go to Cafes & Clubs that have blackboard get up and sing if you are into music.
    For a few hours of labour i would offer free accommodation & meals. Also be able to hack out with me (depending on capability & also weight as the largest pony i have is 14.2 which is fine for a smaller adult, if a experienced rider - can ride my dressage horse if i think your suitable) & of course my hubby & daughter can take you surfing. My husband also travels around southland - Te Anau, Milford, Stewart Island etc so you catch a ride to see these places.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our area is great re sea-life. Dolphins are always local in our sea & frequently go up our river. Great surf spots - my husband & daughter surf. We are involved with music groups also - my daughter plays guitar & sings. Close to Stewart Island as well. 1/2 an hour on a boat from Bluff gets you there. And also the Catlins area.
    Can take you riding around our local area.
    Great fishing. Skiiing a couple of hours away in Queenstown area.

  • Help

    Help

    To be able to help around my property with the animals - mainly muck out/feeding horses. House sitting if I have an occasional weekend away. Maybe some Fence staining. Cook some evening family meals.
    Maybe gardening & fence painting.
    If a male - building repair, painting & paddock work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleepout - has a wee kitchen, microwave, fridge & oven.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It’s is a physical job working with horses & I like to have everything tidy - clean & done efficiently. I expect empathy in relation to behaviour with horses. No rough treatment is acceptable. I myself train with as emphasis on myself - body position as much as I try to teach with patience & understanding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Trial of 1 week. Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 753866879787