Learn about the local life here in the Mary Valley and live in a peaceful bush setting - Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Friendly Family of 3 with a 4 acre property. We have chickens, dogs, cats and snake. Plenty of gardening and projects to make the place a beautiful mini eco type space. Wanting to grow more food.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the local life here in the Mary Valley. We have very close connections with the eco village "crystal waters" as we were original residents there. It's a 15minute drive away so we can visit there sometimes and let our hair down while listening to the great local musicians play and exploring the way of life in the permaculture village.

    While here on the property however there will be lots to learn and we have a great fire pit area where we socialise from time to time. Sometimes we set up the amp and play guitar and sing from our big balcony that surrounds the house.

    The animals here are friendly and fun to play with. We have 2 cute dogs and 2 sweet cats. 4 friendly chickens that love cuddles and also a pet snake!

    There's lots of rivers and waterfalls in the area to explore as well!
    Access to food in garden and fruit trees

  • Help

    Help

    12hrs a week. Up to you when you do them. Maybe 3 days of 4 hours or 4 days of 3 hours.

    Gardening. Mulching weeding planting
    Feeding animals.
    Making more room for vegetables.
    Mowing.
    Brushcutting.
    Possibly small building projects.
    Can make sculptures for around the property from things we find.
    We are a very creative family so there will be lots we can think of!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Luxurious large 10 man sized tent with 2 rooms inside. We've made a lounge room and a bedroom in there. TV screen for laptop. There's a nice comfy bed and a couch. Carpets. A fan and a heater. Cooking facilities. Table and chairs. Storage space nearby. Your own fridge in the shed nearby.

    We have made the tent feel like a real home! There's a huge tarp over the top to protect it from all weather and it's in a shady position right next to the house for easy access to the toilet and shower inside. Some meals with family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would prefer someone with a drivers licence and has a car, or at least prospects to get a car. There is no public transport here but we do drive to the town almost every day. Would just be much easier if you had your own vehicle at some point.

    Local sites of interest:
    Booloumba creek and rainforest.
    Crystal waters eco village.
    Maleny.
    Kenilworth.
    Glasshouse mountains.

    We can also paint and make sculptures in our free time.

    You can use the fire pit any night and chill out under the stars!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    12 hours in one week. Spread out however you like, for example: 4 hours a day for 3 days or 3 hours a day for 4 days. Weekends always free.


Host ref number: 752437888381