Volunteer for a starting a eco farm in northern British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have 80acre farm in Northern British Columbia , I am in the beginning steps in making it in to self sustainable I have just acquired the land and there is tons of work in building trails, fencing, fixing up buildings, looking after farm animals, feeding , I also have a team of sled dogs I race during winter, and skijoring is on top of the list to do around here. Currently I have very gentle cows and I'm milking one for cheese and butter, I also have chickens for eggs and meat , we would be eating home cooked meals mostly grown or produced on this farm I have single bedroom available for room ,
    Life is slow and friendly with the animals , positive attitude is a must and love for all creatures big and small.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would learn tons of how to be self sofficient and how to repurpose old building without wastin and buildings all new,

  • Help

    Help

    im not stuck on one particular job,
    But this time I need a hand in fixing the Cow shed for winter as it is a two mans job. And taking turns in cooking and cleaning and of course there are the dogs they need somebody to love them and to take them for a run , if you like you can also learn how to milk a cow and make cheese.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room and board

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are 30 km from Prince George it is a large city with all amenities, I have couple of vehicles on the farm to use just need to have drivers licence, if not I can alway give a lift to town when needed

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 749724541138