Come and help with our building and glamping project in riverside woodland in lovely Suffolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 415 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Dan (44), Lucy (42) and Harry (6) , a small family seeking help with a big project! We are extending and renovating our house in the wood and by the river in sunny Suffolk (4 miles from historic Bury St Edmunds, half an hour to Cambridge and about 1.5 hours to London). We also have woodland to maintain and hopefully tree houses to build (we're hoping to get permission to start a glamping site in the wood). Predominantly we need people with construction experience and can offer a small wage on top of the normal Workaway arrangement for plumbing, carpentry etc. However we also love to share a cultural experience if you are seeking to help with general tasks such as gardening, fencing etc.

    We work during the week in term time (Lucy teaches languages at a school; Dan works at a charity in London) and Harry is at school, so you'll have to be alright on your own at times, but we're a friendly bunch for family meals in the evening. Although we feel fairly remote and quiet here, we're actually very near to some lovely cities and towns - in addition to Cambridge and Bury St Edmunds, Norwich is within easy distance. The countryside is pretty here though, and we're near enough to some nice pubs and plenty of places to eat. Lucy speaks French and Spanish and we're very happy to help with you practicing your English skills as well as wanting to learn about other cultures ourselves.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    French and Spanish are spoken here but we're also very happy to help with learning English. Culturally, the area is rich in Anglo-Saxon history, having some of the most historic sites in the UK nearby. Theatres, cinemas, music venues and seaside attractions (the coast is about an hour away), are all available. London is reasonably close on the train. We're very interested in developing a more sustainable and organic lifestyle and so would enjoy chats about those subjects too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Some of the help can be reasonably hard but also varied - general labouring, construction and trades such as carpentry, bricklaying, plumbing skills will all be very useful. But we're also looking for help with getting our 4 acres of woodland and gardens into shape - things like fencing, planting, cutting and also building structures like treehouses for the glamping! Fundamentally we have a lot to do but it's rewarding and fun too.

    We offer hosting for a minimum of two weeks with the agreement that either you or we can end the arrangement if it's not working out. Our ideal Workawayers have been flexible, easy to get on with, keen to fit into our family life, hardworking yet relaxed in the evenings, interested and interesting. We have made friends for life with Workaways who buy in to the ethos of a fair two-way exchange and who are as interested in learning about us as we are about them. If this sounds like you, we'd love to hear from you!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    On-site private caravan with double bed (possibility to host others in single beds too).

    We provide cereal, bread and jam for you to make your own breakfast; soup and a roll for you to heat up for lunch (with leftovers from dinner for snacks); and a hot or cold dinner which we all share together. You are welcome to buy additional food for yourselves in our local town. We welcome offers to cook the evening meal and and will buy the food for you - we are always excited to learn about your cuisine.

    The house is basic but functional at the moment - clean and warm but not pretty! That's why we're renovating it!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus service into the local town and railway station. Time off can be spent here (reading by the river perhaps, or strolling in the nearby parkland), in Bury St Edmunds (a lovely town with a historic abbey, cathedral etc), or further afield by train (for day trips to places like Cambridge, Ely, Norwich and London).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 748982891471