Help with chores and horses near Toowoomba, Australia

  • Favourited 409 times
  • Last activity: 3 Jan 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family although our 2 children are almost grown - 17yr old & a 20 yr old who is now off travelling! My husband works in Toowoomba and our daughter goes to school in town as well. She loves riding horses especially Eventing - Showjumping, Dressage and X country. She is also a runner & Swimmer and used to do modern Pentathlon/ pony club Tetrathlons. She loves listening to music. We have 2 horses,1 dog, a cat and a few sheep and a goat. We love traveling and love learning about life in other countries. My Husband loves watching any sport, especially football (rugby) and cricket, He likes going for runs, playing touch football, working in the garden and listening to music.
    For me, we are away every weekend at horse competitions and I am heavily involved with the pony club organising different things, usually when I should be working and looking after things here!! I'm hoping that with a little help we'll have more time to do the things we love!! So, if you're keen to check out our way of life & willing to pitch in & help, come and join our family and experience our Australian way of life!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By staying with us you will see how a middle class Australian family lives.
    We have the added benefit though of having horses which brings with it 2 things - fun & lots of work!! You can learn how we look after our horses, (which I'm sure is very different to overseas!)
    We speak English and love to chat. Some weeks can be pretty quiet here with just the day to day family stuff other weeks can be hectic with friends, competitions, school things etc!!
    We live in the country but only 2 hours from the beach so you can also experience the different countryside with lots of wild animals - especially wallabies & a plethora of Australian birds. There are some nice places for walks or runs.
    I would recommend about 1-2 weeks here as we are just a normal family and I’m sure you are keen to see as much of Australia as you can but of course if you immerse yourself in our family we’d love you to stay longer.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a huge array of jobs that need to get done.
    We really need someone to help us with the household chores!!
    Generally:
    We just need help with the day to day running of the house. Washing, mopping floors, bathrooms, dusting, cooking dinner, weeding the gardens, looking after the horses etc.
    my list of chores is never ending!! So whatever your area of expertise/interest you would be able to help me!! All help is greatly appreciated!!!
    At the moment my husband and I are enjoying doing up a little tin shed, we have no building skills but enjoy working out how to do little handy man things. We have just about finished paving it! Pete had a work accident last year and we are now so far behind on all our jobs outside. Now it has finally rained and the grass is finally growing it's looking beautiful but it means the mowing is endless. We have a ride on mower, zero turn which is pretty cool to use.
    If you are a hard working, self motivated, energetic, outgoing and fun loving person, who enjoys meeting new people and loves animals, we would love you to come and spend some time with us. We love to hear the question, "What can I do to help?"!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a beautiful, modern hamptons style 2 storey house set on 10 acres, among the gumtrees, with lovely escarpment views and a swimming pool. There are lots of wild Australian birds (kookaburras, galahs, cockatoos, king parrots, pale headed rosellas etc)& wallabies. (Especially if you are an early riser. Early morning coffees on the verandah are my favourite part of the day!!) You would stay in the house and have your own large room. We also have a swimming pool, perfect for relaxing among the sounds of nature and getting an Australian tan :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Toowoomba is a vibrant, growing city, with lots of beautiful parks and gardens and tree lined streets. There are large shopping centres but it still has a country feel. We live between Toowoomba & Crows Nest. There are plenty of cafes, a golf course & a pub within walking distance. Highfields is only a 5 minute drive away and Toowoomba is only 20 minutes. Public Transport is limited, but there is a bus that runs into town. There are loads of bush walks, shops, recreational dams, and scenic spots to visit.
    We have bikes that you can use as well!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great wifi here, I work from home with no issues

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of room for caravans etc.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Must be well trained and not chase horses etc. must get along with cats and dogs or be contained.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 748273369178

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Life in a surfer's paradise in Torquay, Australia
General help around the property and fencing near Maryborough, Australia