Help with eco-friendly, sustainable, straw bale and earth buildings on a hobby farm near Maclean, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on the outskirts of Maclean in Northern NSW, Australia. I practice Permaculture and have a ''Hobby Farm''
    My main interest is building, sustainability and the environment. I want to show people by way of ongoing workshops how to build cheaply and avoid being tied into a huge mortgage for most of their lives.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit in so many different ways;
    As I have been a Plumber, Builder all my working life and also practice Permaculture and Bio-dynamic gardening, I have a lot of knowledge and experience to share. I have a worm farm [an absolute 'must do' for any gardener] and have developed an on site sewerage treatment and water recycling system.
    So for anyone who wants to live a self sustainable as possible, organic, economic lifestyle without a huge mortgage to be enslaved by,,,, I can help

  • Help

    Help

    The help I need ranges from house work and cooking to gardening, animal feeding, building, landscaping etc.
    At the moment I need a carpenter and general labour to build tables, benches, cob oven and bbq. pits ETC. to accommodate a larger number of helpers at a time to work on a house which is Economic to build, Eco-friendly and sustainable and Energy efficient. A type of ''Hobbit House''.
    Post and Beam construction with a earth/grass ''Green Roof'' and Straw Bale, Cob and Wood Stack walls and Earth Floors

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is my straw bale house with a caravan for visitors bedroom and/or a self contained flat.
    There is also a camping option.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm near Maclean, halfway between Byron Bay and Coffs Harbour. TOWN, RIVER and BEACHES are only 10mins. away. It's a quiet area, bush and Kangaroos at the back door.We have World Heritage Rainforests, NATIONAL PARKS, rivers and beautiful beaches.
    There's plenty to see and do and if you can drive my car I'd love to show you around the area.
    You don't need building skills, just be willing to work and learn.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 144867547426