Help with my Spanish practice and some tough weeding in my garden in Rhode Island, USA


United States

Favourited 246 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Older "semi retired" woman, RN, physically fit, living on 2.5 acres of wooded land, south of Providence, close to the University of Rhode Island and beaches. I go between being a volunteer and visiting other hosts worldwide and have enjoyed volunteers on a previous project, back in the '80's, building a women's retreat in Vieques, Puerto Rico, without the aid of such a wonderful website. I'm offering a tentsite or room in my comfortable home, where I also rent out a small apt., Everything is pretty straight forward, sometimes I have a paying housemate. I'm not as strong as I used to be, and appreciate capable muscle power and someone with energy - likes the outdoors.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will have enough free time to explore the area as their curiosity desires. With access to bikes, they may go to University, meet other younger folks, and enjoy the benefits of my comfortable home.

  • Help


    I am slow with spanish, so would enjoy anyone wanting to spend time in spanish conversation. There are briars on my property I'm trying to get rid of, so would like help with them - with a weed wacker and great if able to use a chain saw. MUSCLE is required, strong work ethic. Spring, summer or fall would be preferable for this type of garden work. Spring time - getting my gardens ready - and then there is always weeding. Currently trying to relandscape. Move rocks to build a wall, stack fire wood, raking. The winter work would be interior. Seems 1 - 2 week stays would be appropriate. If there are two friends working/volunteering together, it seems like they have more fun, and I don't feel like I have to entertain as much.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation: summer time- comfortable tentsite, 6 person tent on platform, with tarp covering all, mattress, linens, privacy, close to house. (possible inside, if not already occupied). There is a hot outdoor shower, and you'd have use of the house. Use of fire pit. As mentioned, I'm close to the University, which always is offering many programs and public transportation. Welcome to use of bicycle for transportation. NO smoking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My home is located 2 miles from the bus stop - which can take you to Providence or to towns and the beach near by. I cannot always offer transportation - which may make you feel isolated - but as mentioned am in close proximity to small plaza and URI (Univ. of RI).
    I am also listed as a volunteer, and have exchanges in S. America, and traveled extensively. You can see my profile as a volunteer, and what hosts thought of my work ethics etc. You can find me as a volunteer from Rhode Island, Gail

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 - 5 hours a day and food provided for 3 meals daily. You may have to prepare your own meals, but plenty of food available.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 141774737657