Help at our community farm in Sainte-Colombe, South-East France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello to everyone,

    in 2015 Thierry took over an old farm which was unoccupied for 10 years. He is building it out to become a community project based on self reliance. He currently take care of a flock of Merino sheep for meat, dairy goats for cheese but also of two donkeys and a few chickens. All the produce is consumed within the community. Surplus is shared with neighbours and friends. This is a small holding community only producing for its own consumption.

    Rebecca arrived this spring and is busy building a small apiary (6 colonies at the moment). She is also helping with the flock, with milking, in addition to helping with everything else.

    Fanny arrived a short time ago and takes care of the house and the kitchen.

    Patrick arrived recently to help out in the gardens and in the permaculture design process. He has a background as a teacher and consultant and speaks fluent german and english.

    We offer you, all year round, to accompany us in the care of animals and to make the parks for the herd.

    Every day you can make bread and delicious goat cheese that you will enjoy at every meal .

    In the spring, we take more time with the animals as they often give birth.

    You will also help us in planting out the large garden (1,000 m²). Activities may include planting, sowing, preparing garden beds, irrigation, compost etc...

    In the summer, we still do the garden but we also dedicate more work on the buildings.

    We also cure the sheepfolds and turn over the heaps of manure. At the beginning of summer there are also many wild plants to pick: nettle, thyme and lime tree leaves, then lavender mainly at the end of summer.

    In the fall we harvest pears, nuts and vegetables and make preserves. With pears (4 to 5t per year), we especially make juice, jam, brandy, vinegar and compotes.

    We make a lamb every two months and make canned food. We also return household composts. In winter we make wood, we prune pear trees, we clear land and do small renovations. It is still necessary to clean the sheepfolds and turn over the heaps of manure. In addition to all that, there are always things to tinker with ...

    Regarding the pace, hours and organization of your stay, autonomy and initiatives are highly recommended.

    We like to meet new people, make good meals, play board games, play music and go dancing.

    We are also looking to diversify the farm (market gardening, fruit, cereals, medicinal plants, poultry, pig, bakery, animal traction, wool workshop, woodworking, forestry work and / or to help with animals and work restoration and construction for the farm ...).

    The idea is to constitute a small autonomous community and open to the world, why not an integral cooperative ... Notice to the peasants and those in the making ;-)

    The life here is less modern: we cook and heat water with the wood stove and only user Dry toilet outside. We also working to restore the old farm buildings.

    The most of work is looking after the animals and grow vegetable in the garden.

    The farm is in the heart of a natural park. It is surrounded by beautiful mountains, with some nice treks around the farm, climbing spots and lakes. We recommend a car/ caravane as the first village is around 20 min by drive. Occasionally (once a week) we are going to town for shopping. The closest rail station is Laragne-Montéglin. Of course we can pick you up there at your arrival.

    We ask for a minimum stay of 2 weeks, but ideally 3 weeks or more. We don't willing to handle short term stays as it is in your interest to well integrate in the community and important for us as a farm to streamline the workflow.


    See you soon!

    Thierry, Rebecca, Fanny and Patrick

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get a great benefit from a cultural exchange in our community.

    This is a living farm and community project for those who would like to learn and be empowered, to take care of themselves, of animals and Nature and to move on to a more resilient lifestyle.

    We are looking for dedicated and autonomous people who a willing to learn, contribute and live in a multi-task community.

    The host is very knowledgeable, as also all the people living here. We have a lot of experience in farming, animal care and permaculture education.

    Please note that THE CENTER IS LEARNING BASED. So it is not the place for drinking every night.

    Of course we have fun, enjoy life, music and occasionally have celebrations ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for skill-full individuals to help us to build up our farm project.

    Farm skills are welcomed to help in the gardens and with animal care and maintenance. We are also interested in carpentry skills to help improve or extend the existing infrastructures.

    Activities can include but are not limited to: farm tasks, gardening, animal care, feeding, milking, cooking, carpentry, painting etc...

    Help is 5 hours half day with 2 days off.

    In exchange for your work we offer free accommodation and meals.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is the campsite. We will provide you with a caravan or tent. Comfort is currently quite rudimentary but you will enjoy the peacefulness of the mountains and the surrounding nature.
    There is no hot water from the tap. But in the summer there is a solar shower in the garden. You can also heat water in the kitchen if more confortable for you. We hope that will be fixed soon. Toilets are dry toilets. In winter it is quite cool in the house (between 12 and 18 ° C) but we are using a wood heater.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's a rural farm at 1000m altitude. There is no convenient stores around. The first villages are around 20 minutes by car from the farm. We are going to town minimum once a week if you need to do some purchases.
    There are nice walking treks around the farm, climbing spots and lakes with amazing views. This is a place for Nature lovers and people who want to engage into a more resilient lifestyle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    not too big vans, we have a good place close to the farm for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    becareful with your dogs for our animals. dangerous dogs won't be accepted.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

Host ref number: 747279421776