Help needed renovating our 1890s miners cottage by adding a light earth extension on the outskirts of Maldon, Central Victoria, Australia



Favourited 19 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We are a family of two adults, two children - Bea aged 12 and Arlen aged 9 (nearly 10). We have some chooks but our beautiful pet turkey recently passed away. We are well travelled and lived in Italy for two years. Our block is not large (half an acre) but is set on the outskirts of Maldon, a lovely historic goldfields community in Central Victoria, with reserve and paddocks around us and only a shortish walk into town. Melbourne is a train journey of 1.5 hours away.

    We have a gorgeous block with an old miners cottage on it, and a nearly completed light earth extension. Our current work is painting doors, oiling ship lap and painting skirting boards - soon we will be building a new garage and some demolition.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to live in a sustainable way, we will show you local places of interest, we like to talk! (Especially Ken)

  • Help


    We are renovating our 1890s miners cottage by adding a light earth extension. If you are interested in alternative and sustainable building, then this is the place for you. We hope that you will contribute to family life by sharing the cooking, clearing up, playing and stories. We also bake organic sourdough bread once a month for our local market and would be happy to teach baking to you in exchange for help in the bakery.

    The building work varies, we are currently (June 2017) doing work internally - cornices, skirting, painting. Soon we will start work on the old miners cottage, including demolition, foundations, framing etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Italian and Indonesian

  • Accommodation


    Caravan - double bed, kitchen table and kitchenette.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have volunteered around the world as well as acting as hosts when we lived in Italy and we look forward to spending time with you and showing off our lovely part of the world. We will include you in our daily life including social occasions and direct you to interesting walks, towns and local events. It might be better to have your own car because public transport is limited but we will do our best to take you where you would like to go.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 743999444613