Join a small community and help with gardening and DIY projects in Belflou, France

  • France
  • Favourited 138 times
  • Last activity: 1 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    The project:
    The project consists in creating a welcoming place for a small community of people sharing the same interest for DIY projects, ecology, environment, arts, and human interactions.
    Our goal is to develop this beautiful place with a sustainable and joyful approach.
    To us this means :
    - To try and experiment, to learn from our success and our failures
    - To improve our autonomy for both energy and food
    - To reduce our carbon footprint
    - To protect and conserve the local biodiversity
    - To connect with local people as well as foreigners
    - To welcome new comers
    - To organize cultural events for local people and others
    - And, of course, to have fun in all of these activities!

    Who we are:
    We are a group of 4 people (and 3 cats), 2 of us (Sarah & Virgil) traveling across Europe in RV for 2023.
    We are also connected with many people around who often come to help, learn, or simply relax and have fun.
    We now have a lot of space to share with workawayers!
    We, Rachel and Christophe are both working in environment related domains.
    After a 3 year stay in the US, we decided to start developing and improving our place in an eco-friendly manner.
    After 15 years of technical steps (vehicle, energy, gardening...), we think it is time to share what we have learnt and learn from others.
    In the future, we see our place being both daring, creative, collective and intergenerational

    The place:
    This is a renovated farm located between Toulouse and Carcassonne in the south west of France.
    It seats over a huge lake (4 square kilometers !) and 10 ha of fields and forest.

    A cooking dedicated room (the "labo") offers all necessary tools to prepare and preserve all kinds of local food : pork, ducks, orchard fruits, garden vegetables, herb teas, or medicinal plants.
    There are 2 workshops: one for mechanics and wood, one for electricity, electronics and plumbing with many tools
    We also have a movie place and what we call "the loft", a place dedicated to art, music, dance, and partying!

    There is a lot of place to park vehicles (vans, RVs, caravans...)
    There is also a caravan (when it is not too cold!).

    We have a swimming pool, but needless to say that the lake is just a lot more fun in summer.
    And last, but not least, 3 sailing boats and 2 canoes to explore the lake.

    On the domain, an orchard gives us plenty of fruits from May to October. And a huge vegetable garden conducted with permaculture techniques offers many opportunities for growing anything!

    From energy standpoint, we use our photovoltaic panels for electricity and thermal solar panels for hot water and heating. Main furnace is ... the fireplace where we use our firewood which makes the global carbon footprint of the house quite decent, not yet in the IPCC target, but working hard to get better!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Good fun, good food, good wine, good music, good everything!

  • Help


    So many things to do here! Workawayers will choose what to create at the beginning of their stay.
    Food? Art? Garden? Low-tech DIY projects? Energy? Carpentry? Building renewals? Social events? Geek projects (may the force be with ESPs!)?
    When it is possible, the idea is to design and realize what to do from the very beginning up to the end.

    Globally we would expect from our guests around 4 hours of work 5 days a week. Of course, everything can be discussed!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    It can be cool to discuss with workawayers in any language!

  • Accommodation


    The house offers 3 bedrooms with double beds, 2 bathrooms for our visitors.
    We also have a nice little caravan.
    We can park vans close to the main house.
    For connected people, we have WiFi and solid 4G.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If needed, we can provide a car to explore our region which is just amazing!
    We have so many places of interest around here.
    Cultural: Museums, cathares castles, Carcassonne, Prehistoric caves, Canal du midi...
    Nature: Pyrenees mountains, Black mountains forest, hot springs
    Sports: skiing, sailing, hiking
    Food: wine tours, local markets, and our network of local farmers (fruits, vegetables, cheese, ice cream...)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet connection is good here. 4G is also available. Bandwidth is pretty decent.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lot of space to park RVs and motorhomes

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 743335751215

Feedback (5)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Looking for a someone who can help my children with learning English in Saint Mandé, France
Language exchange and help with gardening near Saux-et-Pomarède, France