Help with an social/ecological non-profit restoration project on and old mill in Binic, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young non-profit cooperative (a eco-place) which has just bought an old mill in Binic (22) in France. In addition to being human and pleasant, we are under the status of real estate cooperative and we have many sites that require skills and manpower. The project carries humanist, social, ecological values...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    After the work, you are free to enjoy our beautiful region, we can provide you with bicycles. We can also share moments around a good meal, cook together, play board games, go for a walk or swim at the beach ... We are in a process of transparency, benevolence, benevolent communication ... which are not negotiable and could be the cause of a premature end of the helpx.

  • Help

    Help

    Our rules regarding helpers:
    - we do not realize any turnover on the work of helpers
    - we apply the same rules of benevolence towards helpers as to ourselves.


    # Works / Schedules
    For construction times, we are open to all formats and all times. We can discuss it and anyway, we are not already imposing on us 8 hour days so it should be around 4/5 hours per day, 5 days max per week. In land of need the list is large:
    - cleaning / storage
    - market gardening / gardening / brush cutting
    - masonry
    - blanket
    - carpentry
    - electricity / DIY

    Current projects :
    - hydroelectricity with water from the mill
    - photovoltaic
    - nourishing forest
    - bread oven
    - low tech
    - (and why not a project that you could suggest to us ;)
    - ...

    # Agenda
    We decided not to host all the time to do it well and in good conditions. Do not hesitate to contact us by proposing your dates or by asking us for dates for a specific period. If a project or sites are of particular interest to you, do not hesitate to let us know too.

    We are so happy to be hosts after having been helper for years all over the world.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the moment the reception conditions are spartan (but we still have hot water and electricity in our house):
    - shower (shared) in a hangar (no heating, but hot water)
    - toilets (shared) also under the hangar (no heating)
    - kitchen (shared) but warm ;)

    The ideal would therefore be for you to be "autonomous" for sleeping with a van / motorhome / tent... If this is not the case and you are really motivated, the house of the miller, who does not has not yet been renovated, can accommodate you (the weather is better but there is no electricity). If the reception period is not too long, we can also offer you our sofa (with the stove).

    The network is capricious (internet only with Orange and Bouygues and again it is not a panacea) but we have wifi at home with internet (but no streaming, we are limited in speed). In terms of food, we take care of all meals except breakfast (normally we do not take any), the meals are vegetarian and mainly local and organic.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 741126952595