Live with us and help build a beautiful Algarvian wild garden and unique place to live in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 474 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my wife Ana is Portuguese and I, Chris am English. We are both fit and healthy fifty year olds and have renovated our home recently which is in the quiet countryside only 2km from amazing beaches. We will be sharing our home with guests and need help to run our private home and garden giving us time to look after our guests.

    There is lots of work to do but time too to carry out your own project though as I say it would be lovely if you fully committed to the project here.

    We have a clothes optional philosophy here which means that when it's hot we may at times go 'au natural' enjoying the 1 hectare private gardens and pool as nature intended. There is no pressure to be naked but you need to be comfortable with nudity and its is definitely NOT a sexualised environment just nature, freedom and peace. We did in the past have many happy workaways in a similar environment.

    Please read our profile fully.......

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ana is Portuguese national living and working as a school teacher so can give some insight into Portuguese life. Chris is English and loves to talk and share experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    Basically the house is being rebuilt and extended by professional builders so our work is to sort out the garden landscaping and fit out the house with furniture and lighting etc..There may also be a need for help in the house with general housework, cooking and daily life
    It is important that you are strong and self motivated though you will be helping alongside us you may also be working by yourself at times too. Although you don't need to be a 'builder' ( but it would be useful ) it is important that you feel that you will be able to truly help, being able to take instructions is important too. If you have skills to offer then I will be very grateful too, just tell us what they are especially helpful would be building experience, welding, small business wifi set up and website building.
    The gardens need a lot of tidying too and an ability to help plan a new garden would be especially useful.

    Well that's the serious bit. In return for five hours help you will have three simple meals a day; we all join in with cooking and cleaning up. Time off each day will be organized to fit in around all of us as will two full days off per week, we will be as flexible as possible as we understand this is a volunteering exchange and you will want to see the local area and experience local life. Its easy to walk down to the beach in thirty minutes and there will be opportunities to go out with Chris and Ana if you would like. It's May now and the beach is warm and Workaways have been swimming in the last week as well.....

    Your accommodation may be a portacabin or a room in the house if ready . As we will be working hard its only fair to say that we will not be partying each evening so we are probably more suited to sharing our place with a quieter person or couple.
    We do have a dog who is lovely but large and for a young lady rather boisterous so you will need to be happy around her:-) the cat too.....

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A simple but tidy portacabin possibly a room in the house if ready space to pitch your own tent or park your own small camper bus.....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This long term position may suit someone who is writing a book or similar, looking for peace or meditation through committed work in a beautiful environment.......

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Chris building garden steps
Ana gardening
One of Ana's favourite beaches.....
cliff top walks
View from the kitchen window where you sometimes see the local shepherd grazing his sheep.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 394131975464