Help around the house in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 1062 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    878

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha, I'm Anya.

    I'm originally from Ukraine, grew up in New York, but spent a lot of my life traveling the world. I use Workaway as a traveler and as a host, and I love it.

    Please don't be discouraged by the low reply rate shown on my profile at times. Being in a popular place like Hawaii, I get so many emails sometimes and I can't keep up. I do check them all and get back to ones that seem like they might be a good fit.

    I have been living on Big Island, Hawai'i for the last 7 years. Here I stay busy by creating beautiful spaces, hosting travelers, renting out rooms and running after my 2 young daughters (ages 6 and 8).

    I'm passionate about photography (previous to this I started Sattya Media Arts Collective in Nepal), languages, art, design, cinematography, architecture, journalism, books, travel, and making things happen.

    In 2019, I moved into a beautiful new home with good vibes, friends, travelers, volunteers and am open to hosting Workawayers who can help me make the place better and help keep it clean. Plus always looking to connect with interesting people on building and design projects, media/film, and just in general!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's a great way to stay in Kona and get to know the beauty and culture of this place! Awesome beaches, valleys, swimming, snorkeling, surfing, etc.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    ***CURRENTLY SEEKING FROM FEB 4***

    -1 person to take on afternoon homeschooling. Accommodation in tiny house with another workawayer. Must be able to plan lessons and activities and take initiative. Looking for camp counselor kind of vibes.

    -1 person to help with cleaning and household help on weekends. Potentially also some camp counselor vibes. Accomodation in a large tent with a bed.

    Especially seeking Russian speakers. Also prefer people that can stay more than 3 months.
    ***********************

    Seeking people who can respect the family vibe of our home (no party vibes please). This is a good fit for someone who wants to get work done, and then be out and about exploring the the island...we like to have Workawayers around, but also have some personal space around the house too.

    SEEKING HELP WITH
    -Cleaning (lots of it)
    -Homeschooling
    -Carpentry, plumbing, repairs (please definitely inquire if you have these skills at any time)
    -Property maintenance
    -Basic gardening


    WHATS IMPORTANT TO ME
    Seeking people who have/are:
    -Positive attitude
    -Take initiative
    -Can respect our family's personal space
    -Can get along with other Workawayers
    -Can do attitude
    -Trustworthy
    -Tidy and organized
    -Genuinely care about the spirit of Workaway


    WHAT I OFFER IN RETURN
    -A place to stay in an amazing house (your lodging is a tiny house or tent) with killer views and a pool, in Kailua-Kona, close to town center

    -A car (Need to share with other Workawayers. Please fill it up with gas.)

    -We sometimes have group dinners and share food, but in general please plan on purchasing your own food and budget accordingly.

    I've been a Workawayer myself and want to be a fair and good host, and for you to enjoy this beautiful island :) So we will talk about what works and plan accordingly. Taking a few days off to go off on an adventure is cool too, please just discuss your plans with me.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Nepali: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A tiny house in the backyard that has two twin sized bed so you may be sharing it with another Workawayer. Workawayer kitchen, shower and bathroom are nearby.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time, you can check out the local beaches and all the natural beauty the island has to offer. Town is close by so you can hang out in cafes, check out shops, go to yoga classes, check out events, markets, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Great wifi, flexible schedule

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 739465674486