Help me to create a sustainable project and explore life in nature near Soltvadkert, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am Zoltán (29) I am a cemical engineer but I won't work any more in industry. I bought recently a farm in Vargabokor (near Nyíregyháza). I want to create a self sustainable life.
    I am a lazy engineer, usually I work 4-6hours / day and some day do nothing, depend on the mood. I take the things easily.
    About the farm: It is 0,4ha. Half of that acacia forest, other half is an old orchard and grapes. Lots of tipes, Some grapes tipe so old that not even allowed to plant nowadays. So it exist only in old gardens like this. There are some olde tipe fruit trees too and now my vegetable garden try to fit in these dense, lifefull garden.
    I have no neighbours. The farm is 300m away from the village. The surrounding area: half arable land, half orchard, and some small "forests" (tree plantations) so not so interesting :( but at least the farm is a small oasis on a hill, with good view to the "nearby" mountains (~30-40km away)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think who want to come help to creating this self-sustainable life, those already see the problems of the modern society.
    Learn about thatched roof, mud furnace, permaculture, "vályog" house.

  • Help

    Help

    I only expect 4 hours work/day and 5 days/week

    Building projects:
    - Small repair on the thatched roof
    - build a chicken cage
    - build a furnace (from brick and mud)
    - some smaller projects like: fence repair or supported for grapes, make small path or gates.

    Garden:
    Almost always ripen somthing and have to collect them. Not just fruits but flovers for tee or seeds for next year. The fruits have to conserv . I prefer drying but still lot of work to get out the seeds.

    If you more like cooking and other household work that is also an option.I don't like cook and I am okay without that but still would be a nice help if the household work not take my energy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 2 buildings. Both are build from "vályog" (half clay half mud). There are very tick walls so it remains cool even in summer.
    The main house have 1 room, 1 kitchen and 2 other room with separate entrance but with very small windows because these was for food storage.
    The other building was a summer kitchen. It is 3x3m. So I have 3 possible place for workawayers but currently all of them full with rubbish and need some repair on the windows and so on. That is why I can receive volunteers just after middle of June. and I will upload pictures as soon as it ready.

    Electricity, and internet are there but no running water. I have a well and a bath or an outside shower. For hot water have to heat up in bucket.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Is a direct train from Budapest to Nyíregyháza (3hour). Then have bus to Vargabokor but I have a car so I can bring you to my farm. The city is 10km away. ~half hour by bike. Most of the way have bike road near the main road but I prefer the dirt road because that is nicer and more calm.

    Here is a "kunhalom" just 3km away. It is an ancient tumb, but it looks like a big hill and you can't go inside.
    Nyíregyháza is just an average hungarian city, nothing intresting for me :) Here have the bigest zoo in the country but I dont know what kind of compared to other countries. (Need a whole day to watch everything there)

    I was workawayer on 3 places in Sweden and 1 place in Hungary. I didn't liked the places where they just needed a worker for hard work. That is why I will try to demand as less as possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 738146499513