Help me with my house and garden in a Hampshire village, England


United Kingdom

Favourited 112 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    I am an English, retired language teacher, loving a sociable laid-back life in an English village. However, now slightly disabled, I am no longer able to cope with my small house and garden Hampshire. I can usually only offer one week's volunteering to a single person. I would welcome help with housework, gardening, and painting and decorating in return for board, lodging, language tuition and sightseeing. I am used to having people in my house as I have hosted foreign students in the past, and also ran a B & B. I eat mainly vegetarian food. Please note that I spend a lot of time in France and would welcome Workawayers to stay with me there too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can act as tourist guide (used to work for the tourist board) and can offer language tuition, English or French (used to teach languages).

  • Help


    Would welcome general help with tidying the small garden a few hours a day. Help indoors eg spring cleaning, cooking, painting and decorating. You could have plenty of time off and I can offer language tuition.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Russian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will be accommodated in a bedroom with bathroom in a thatched cottage in a picture-postcard village near Winchester.
    No smoking in the house.
    I can only accommodate one person.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Good location if you like walking, many picturesque villages. There is not a lot of public transport but it is possible to get here by train then bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Host ref number: 737848461399