Play, Renovate, and Landscape with me in the Colorado Rocky Mountains Overlooking the Water!


United States

Favourited 89 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 31 days


 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Welcome to the wild, wild west! 9300 feet above sea level, high up in the Rocky Mtns, 45 mins west of Denver is a historic area in a hot vacation spot that once accommodated such stars as Lena Horne and Louis Armstrong and is still drawing notable visitors.

    As of May 2018, I am looking for someone to do landscaping/outdoor work with me. It's primarily clearing the property, planting, chopping wood, hauling, putting up a steam tent, securing fence posts. It would involve lifting and experience with chainsaws, weed wackers, hole-digging. If you have a truck, that would be awesome. It would probably be a week- long project - 5 hours a day for 5 days. Evenings, I bbq and watch the sun set over the water with guests/crew.

    I am an author and educator who is renovating my mountain cabin to become a family retreat in honor of my grandparents, immigrants who always opened their home to weary travelers mid-century.

    This retreat will also be reserved 10% of the month to sponsor at-risk students and their families, providing resources and rest/recreation.

    The cabin sits on a mountain overlooking S. Boulder Creek with panoramic vistas of the hills. It is 2200 s.f. on 1.75 acres. It is 20 minutes from local skiing, 20 minutes to the casinos, national parks, hiking, camping, and a straight run up I-70 to Vail, Winter Park, and other major resorts! The infamous town of Nederland, home of the Frozen Dead Guy Festival, is 15 minutes away and offers many amenities, nightlife, shopping, and a great music scene.

    There is 750 s.f. of new deck overlooking the water. The upper level is complete! Thanks to all the hands that took part! We are now working on the lower level. There will be a need in mid-late spring for landscaping and finishing details on the interior and exterior.

    I'm looking for friendly, efficient people who are focused on the work, but are also interactive. You will work alongside me and will have independence and time to enjoy Colorado on your own outside of helping hours.

    Cleanliness and hygiene are important.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an incredible opportunity to experience the great outdoors of Colorado, learn about the amazing details of this historic area that is regaining popularity since it's heydey between the 1930s and the 1950s. If you want to hike, camp, snowshoe, hang out with great locals, and ski a LOT, this is the place to be.

  • Help


    Landscaping, weedwacking, window washing, auto mechanics, general building, obstacle course design and construction, trash clearing/hauling, general plumbing, remodel finishing, erecting steam tent, building sweat lodge, other outdoor projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Italian, some Spanish

  • Accommodation


    bed/sleeping area, shared kitchen and bath, lunch/dinner meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This project will require 5 hrs a day, 5 days a week for several weeks, leaving time for recreation, sightseeing in Denver, about 45 minutes away or any of the many places to go in this part of Colorado.

    All workers should be 18 or over, have a valid drivers license, no felony record.

    It's a relaxed environment, but consistency and good work ethics are needed. The goal is to complete the renovations in a timely manner before moving on to less critical property improvements. Must have a wide variety of contractor skills and sufficient experience to provide quality construction at a good working pace.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs per day, 5 days week

Host ref number: 737725136827