Help with our family permaculture project in the Appalachian Mountains, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 239 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a group of family and friends who bought 18 acres of land in the Appalachian Mountains. We are looking to convert it into a food forest, and be self- sustainable on the land.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On our farm, we have diverse people with unique knowledge from all over! If you are interested in permaculture, animal care, herbology, nutrition, and regeneration, this is the place for you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We recently bought a 18 acre piece of land in the Appalachian Mountains! We are looking to convert it into a self- sustainable permaculture farm! We are looking for help with many things- farming, gardening, animal care, building, electrical, carpentry, you name it! Looking for both individuals with experience in a particular field, and people who are simply hard working and willing to learn! We are not looking to profit off of this farm, just sustain our household!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two options for where you can stay on the farm. If you like your privacy, we have converted a barn inside a home with its own kitchen, bathroom, beds and hangout area. It is rustic living, but has all of the necessities you would need. We also have extra bedrooms in the house if you are more comfortable with that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are an hour drive from Asheville, which is a happening city with lots of art, music, and delicious restaurants! Nearby, we have the small town of Burnsville, which is quaint with a cute farmers market, shops, and several breweries with live music. We are right across from the Toe River, which is great for rafting and tubing! We are surrounded by beautiful hikes and waterfalls, and are always excited to show people around! We go into town often and are happy to drive you. And the river is just a short walk. We like to live a quiet farm life, but we also enjoy having potlucks, campouts and dancing nights by the fire. So this is the right place of you if you like to be social but can also appreciate days of solitude.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a great WIFI connection and comfy home to work in!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have septic and electrical hookups if you are bringing a camper!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Any pet that gets along with livestock and other dogs!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 736727266724