Need help around a once splendid, rambling old Edwardian house with 1 1/2acres of overgrown garden, Cornwall, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    248

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live with my son in a rambling old Edwardian house with 1 1/2acres of overgrown garden. We are 100 metres above the Hayle estuary in Cornwall. I have lived here for 23 years but am finding it hard to keep on top of all the tasks that need doing to maintain the property.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    West Cornwall is rich in history and scenic beauty. We can all learn about working as a team, appreciating the simple pleasures in life. I am a musician, as are my sons - there will be opportunities to play and learn together after the work is done. I am also a Playback Theatre practitioner and so can offer evening workshops on improvisational skills based on our shared stories.

  • Help

    Help

    Anyone who enjoys gardening - from weeding (vegetable patch and borders), hedgetrimming, sawing and chopping logs. Also, someone to help with building and house maintenance work/decorating. I'd like to build another slate clad shed, finish repairing the garage and conservatory, work out why the bay windows keep leaking...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, would like to learn others...

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are a couple of possibilities - a static caravan or a room in the house. In the summer, the rooms are rented out - the caravan is usually where you will stay. The caravan is self-catering accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lelant Station is 100 metres away. Bus stops are 100 metres the other way. St ives, Penzance, coastal walks are all within easy access. In the home, the peace and quiet we share here has always been paramount - no loud noise after 10pm has always been the rule so hopefully, if you come to help and stay, you can respect that too. Also, the house is a strictly non-smoking household and excessive use of alcohol etc. is not encouraged.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 734911551857

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more